HD HTPC....possible yet? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-30-2008, 11:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default HD HTPC....possible yet?

I just got a HTPC case (NewEgg's shell shocker the other day, link) and am planning a media PC. However, I want this HTPC to be HD (Blu-Ray) capable. I know HD video is possible...that's no sweat.

I've found one card that will supposedly take video and HD audio and pass it through a single HDMI output, but it seems to be getting delayed again and again. Does anyone know of any other devices or ways of getting full HD audio (DTS-HD and/or Dolby TrueHD) and video through the PC?

Also, what do you think the requirements would be for smooth Blu-Ray playback?
__________________

__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Old 10-30-2008, 12:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: HD HTPC....possible yet?

The 7600gt and 9600gt are the nvidia options I am not sure if they have on die audo encoding but ATi definately do with the Hd3470 providing an adapter is used and you have to do some funky driver setup. 1080p play back should be fine with over 1.6ghz processor and 1 gb of ram in xp so not overly difficult to attain.
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 10-30-2008, 12:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default Re: HD HTPC....possible yet?

But that ATI card is just video right? There are no audio capabilities with it?
__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Old 10-30-2008, 12:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: HD HTPC....possible yet?

The 8500GT i have passes through audio and even has hdmi out. Almost all cards have audio pass through these days.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 10-30-2008, 01:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: HD HTPC....possible yet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by synergy View Post
But that ATI card is just video right? There are no audio capabilities with it?
That ati card has a built in audio decoder you just have to use their dvi-hdmi adapter to use it simple as. KustomPCs.co.uk - Premier HDMI Female to DVI Male Adapter http://www.sapphiretech.com/us/produ...und_output.pdf

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
The 8500GT i have passes through audio and even has hdmi out. Almost all cards have audio pass through these days.
Quite true but this normally depends on you having a soundcardand it can be hard to get them in sync with video takes some messy calibration work sometimes. I would go with the ati option its all on die and should work flawlessly.
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 10-30-2008, 03:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default Re: HD HTPC....possible yet?

So you mentioned that an adapter is needed and that the driver setup is "funky". Is there a simple solution that will be seamless with Vista?
Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
The 8500GT i have passes through audio and even has hdmi out. Almost all cards have audio pass through these days.
So does that 8500 carry full HD (vid and sound) to a receiver?
__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Old 10-30-2008, 05:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: HD HTPC....possible yet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by synergy View Post
So you mentioned that an adapter is needed and that the driver setup is "funky". Is there a simple solution that will be seamless with Vista?

So does that 8500 carry full HD (vid and sound) to a receiver?
stupid edit button.


I honestly couldnt tell you. I run the digital output from the motherboard straight to the reciever and hdmi out to the tv.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 10-30-2008, 08:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: HD HTPC....possible yet?

To repeat myself!
That ati card has a built in audio decoder you just have to use their dvi-hdmi adapter to use it simple as.

limk 1KustomPCs.co.uk - Premier HDMI Female to DVI Male Adapter
link 2http://www.sapphiretech.com/us/produ...und_output.pdf

The audio driver setup is a little odd as you have to enable it as outlined in link 2
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
htpc build:mobo question GENX34 System Upgrades 5 10-27-2008 04:29 PM
WTB ,Ram,GPU,m-atx,TV tuner, HTPC case thirdshiftdj Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 2 09-05-2008 03:05 PM
Htpc Kdar New Systems | Building and Buying 9 04-10-2008 03:06 PM
Thinking about an HTPC.... Goodonebales New Systems | Building and Buying 58 08-10-2007 12:58 AM
Need a few parts for a HTPC straightv6 New Systems | Building and Buying 14 08-05-2007 07:29 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.