Having problem while upgrading AMD CPU...Please Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-30-2008, 08:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 10
Default Having problem while upgrading AMD CPU...Please Help

I bought a AMD 64x2 5400 2.80GHz OEM to upgrade my 4200. When I insert the chip and hook everything back up, my computer starts beeping at me and wont turn on. I put back in my 4200 and it's running fine.

My motherboard shouldn't have anything to do with it correct? What else could the problem be?

Toroth is offline  
Old 06-30-2008, 08:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
rustle rustle
35g700's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,553
Default Re: Having problem while upgrading AMD CPU...Please Help

well if the 4200 works fine then it is probably a bad 5400, but I could be wrong.

Core i5 2500K - Asus P67 EVO - Gigabyte GTX 970 - 16GB DDR3 1600MHz - 250GB Samsung 840 EVO - Windows 8.1 Pro x64
Mid 2014 Retina MacBook Pro 13.3" - 2.6GHz core i5 - 16GB DDR3 1600MHz - 128GB - OS X El Capitan
Sony PS3 & PS4 500GB || iPhone 6s 64GB iOS 9
35g700 is offline  
Old 06-30-2008, 08:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
veg1992's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Having problem while upgrading AMD CPU...Please Help

If its the 5400+ Brisbane, most older boards don't support them natively, try flash your BIOS to the latest version if you haven't done that already

Then try the 5400+ again, if it doesn't work this time, you better RMA it
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.

.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-30-2008, 08:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 10
Default Re: Having problem while upgrading AMD CPU...Please Help

I'm new when it comes to the BIO's so could you help me do that? I have a Acer and my motherboard is a NVIDA GeForce 6100 / nForce 430.

There a site that shows step by step or anything?
Toroth is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inquiry regarding apathy toward specific companies Apokalipse Off Topic Discussion 84 07-03-2008 12:48 PM
Rosewill RCX-2775 CPU cooler. A diamond in the rough. Sora New Technology and Products 8 06-18-2008 03:01 PM
A8N32-SLI DELUXE COOL'N'QUITE & QFan Problem Brunoboy Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 04-28-2008 10:42 PM
Bad MB or CPU? fallow Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 12-16-2007 05:49 PM
AMD Triple Core? Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 09-19-2007 06:36 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:32 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.