having many pc problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-28-2008, 10:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 61
Default having many pc problems

I was over clocking and I got up to 4.37 Ghz without overclock fail. I was satisfied and then when i went to windows it wouldnt boot up. So i set it back to 4.00 Ghz and windows booted up. Why is this?
specs
4gb ram 800ddr2
Biostar I45
Intel 8500 3.16 wolfandale.


Also one of my 250 GB hard drives went bad(i was running raid0) so i had install windows again on the other single 250 GB. now everytime i turn on my PC it asks me which operating system i would like to use. There are two options and their both windows vista. The top one works and the bottom one doesnt.
How do i get rid of the one that doesnt work?
__________________

orion233 is offline  
Old 12-29-2008, 08:21 AM   #2 (permalink)
Yee Ol' Salt
 
Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 642
Default Re: having many pc problems

Wow that is some killer speeds your runnin, you must see things before they happen
I'm not extremely schooled in your OC problem but as far as your dual boot, I can help.

The only way with Vista to get rid of what you have, is to re-install your OS, with XP it's really simple to fix. but maybe someone can tell how to fix the boot ini file for Vista, I havn't been able to.
__________________

Hampton is offline  
Old 12-29-2008, 12:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 61
Default Re: having many pc problems

that really sucks because I had to reinstall os 3 times now because one of my hard drives went bad.

I have another question. I have a radeon 4870HD 1GB and I can over clock the GPU. what is a good overclock application for radeon 4800 cards?
orion233 is offline  
Old 12-29-2008, 02:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: having many pc problems

4.37Ghz but won't boot into windows because it's unstable
you should also run prime95 OR intel burn test to see if 4 Ghz is stable

use EasyBCD to remove the *OLD* install of Vista

I just used CCC for my 4850
can also try riva tuner
Rivatuner 2.22 Released
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 12-29-2008, 02:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 61
Default Re: having many pc problems

I don't see an option for overclocking on Riva Turner, where is it?
Is there some kind of tutorial?
orion233 is offline  
Old 12-29-2008, 02:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: having many pc problems

In rivatuner, click the forced ware taB and then system settings.

Than adust there..... slowly.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 12-29-2008, 03:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Yee Ol' Salt
 
Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 642
Default Re: having many pc problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fat.Clown View Post

use EasyBCD to remove the *OLD* install of Vista
Very cool didn't know about that.. gotta love these little programs.. now if they had a really safe CPU OC that knows what each CPU will do.. for old school newbs like me, that like to jump into acid pools head first
Hampton is offline  
Old 12-29-2008, 10:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 61
Default Re: having many pc problems

I dont see the "forced ware" tab
orion233 is offline  
Old 12-29-2008, 11:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: having many pc problems

Remember when I told you, "don't be selfish about overclocking?"

It turned out that you are going like that will probably fry your chip..

4.0ghz is good.. and here's a guide

How to: Overclocking my nVidia Video Card (using RivaTuner) - Overclock.net - Overclocking.net for OC'ing the GPU
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 12-29-2008, 11:20 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 61
Default Re: having many pc problems

I wasnt being selfish. I was just wasnt exactly sure on what im doing.

If i bought a water cooling system how much more could i overclock?
__________________

orion233 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP! Battlefield 2 Crashes when entering Singleplayer,Multiplayer, and Audio Options Grayman PC Gaming 7 03-17-2009 02:26 AM
Problems with reformat. phucng_10 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 11 12-09-2008 06:00 AM
A whole boatload of problems, please help :( Neodr31 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 09-18-2008 10:32 AM
AVG Free problems,, TomW Viruses, Spyware and Malware 4 05-08-2007 09:08 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.