Have anyone installed a PS3 processor into their computer? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-16-2008, 04:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Over and Above Person
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 714
Send a message via MSN to Ric0h
Default Have anyone installed a PS3 processor into their computer?

1. This should be possible, has anyone tried it? (and if you buy the ps3 and get the processor it should be hella cheap.)

2. Has anyone used CRAZY GLUE on their computer? I have the fan speed cables all around the case, So I figured those can be easily pasted with crazy glue.

3. Is it possible to put plastic covers on some of the motherboard parts? or wherever possible? (To keep the motherboard clean)

4. Whats the chance of getting your motherboard, or some other component non-working because of static damage? (has that happened to anyone here?)

5. Biggest error you have done to your computer?
__________________

__________________
ANTEC 900: Gigabyte Ga-Ep35-DS3P : THERMALTAKE (700 watts) :
4 GB G.SKILL 1000 mhz Intel Quad Core (Q6600)
ATI 4870 ARTIC COOLER FAN
WD 640 and 22x DVD burner
Ric0h is offline  
Old 06-16-2008, 05:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default Re: Have anyone installed a PS3 processor into their computer?

I don't understand the point of this... You asked 5 different questions that had absolutely nothing to do with eachother. I'll answer them as best I can though.

1) Isn't the PS3 a completely different socket? Its a totally different architecture too and no motherboard would support it. It's like putting an AMD processor in an Intel mobo.

2) I don't understand. Cables pasted to what? Are you asking if you could glue them down for wire management? If so, thats a bad idea because if you ever want to take your computer apart, you're gonna have to rip those off. Just get some zip ties.

3) I don't know why you would want to do this. Most cases come with fan filters now and even if they don't, its easy to just take a little can of compressed air and spray your parts to clean them. I've never had to do this and I've had my current rig for over a year.

4) It's pretty rare. It probably will not happen unless you're really dumb about it... i.e. wearing some nice wool socks on your carpet and sliding all over the carpet while you're working on your computer. Just don't be a jack*** and you will be fine.

5) Thought up a bad setup for my wire management? That's easily fixed though. It's not that hard to do everything right.

Although those were some really random questions, I hope I gave you the answers you were looking for.
__________________

__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Old 06-16-2008, 05:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dhgunit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 690
Default Re: Have anyone installed a PS3 processor into their computer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ric0h View Post
1. This should be possible, has anyone tried it? (and if you buy the ps3 and get the processor it should be hella cheap.)

2. Has anyone used CRAZY GLUE on their computer? I have the fan speed cables all around the case, So I figured those can be easily pasted with crazy glue.

3. Is it possible to put plastic covers on some of the motherboard parts? or wherever possible? (To keep the motherboard clean)

4. Whats the chance of getting your motherboard, or some other component non-working because of static damage? (has that happened to anyone here?)

5. Biggest error you have done to your computer?

1. No, cell is made for the PS3. You would have to use other parts from the PS3 and by the time you were finished you would have........a PS3..........in a different box.

2. Ummmm no. Just no.

3. See #2.

4. Never happened to me, and I don't really honestly ever think about it.

5. First build I applied too much thermal paste. That is about it though.
__________________
Antec Twelve Hundred :: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Watt :: EVGA X58 3X SLI
Intel Core i7 920 :: Zalman CNPS9900LED :: SLI: EVGA GTX 260 Core 192 SSC 896MB and EVGA GTX 260 Core 216 896MB
OCZ Platinum 6GB (3x2GB) DDR3-1600 :: Western Digital Caviar Black 2 TB (2x1TB in RAID0) :: Hanns G 28" LCD Monitor


dhgunit is offline  
Old 06-16-2008, 06:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Have anyone installed a PS3 processor into their computer?

1. Theres no way that you can fit a PS3 CPU in a normal mobo available to End-Users

2. thats crazy...

3. not smart at all...

4. very unlikely unless you live in a place where you get statically shocked by friends or family a lot

5. Ever using a Pentium 4 Build
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-16-2008, 06:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Have anyone installed a PS3 processor into their computer?

your answer to #2
Organizer Cable Cradle Clip, Keeping your cables untangled, -cg -Best Computer Online Store Houston Buy Discount Prices Texas-Directron.com
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 06-16-2008, 06:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Over and Above Person
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 714
Send a message via MSN to Ric0h
Default Re: Have anyone installed a PS3 processor into their computer?

Thanks for the link, just what I needed.
__________________
ANTEC 900: Gigabyte Ga-Ep35-DS3P : THERMALTAKE (700 watts) :
4 GB G.SKILL 1000 mhz Intel Quad Core (Q6600)
ATI 4870 ARTIC COOLER FAN
WD 640 and 22x DVD burner
Ric0h is offline  
Old 06-17-2008, 04:08 AM   #7 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Have anyone installed a PS3 processor into their computer?

most important... the cell processor does not support x86 instructions.. therefor.. wouldn't work with windows
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 06-17-2008, 04:18 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 327
Default Re: Have anyone installed a PS3 processor into their computer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992
5. Ever using a Pentium 4 Build
LOL

Mine's the same... :|
__________________
InfernoDeals
sinci is offline  
Old 06-17-2008, 08:37 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Have anyone installed a PS3 processor into their computer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
5. Ever using a Pentium 4 Build
lol i found that funny

also nosboost thats a good point, didnt even think about that until u said it. my guess is the ps3 cell is actually soldered to the motherboard and no a removable socket type like a PC.
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 06-17-2008, 09:26 AM   #10 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: Have anyone installed a PS3 processor into their computer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ric0h View Post
1. This should be possible, has anyone tried it? (and if you buy the ps3 and get the processor it should be hella cheap.)

2. Has anyone used CRAZY GLUE on their computer? I have the fan speed cables all around the case, So I figured those can be easily pasted with crazy glue.

3. Is it possible to put plastic covers on some of the motherboard parts? or wherever possible? (To keep the motherboard clean)

4. Whats the chance of getting your motherboard, or some other component non-working because of static damage? (has that happened to anyone here?)

5. Biggest error you have done to your computer?
1. PS3's are great but I m too broke to still buy one, so no. Besides my IQ is over 10 so I know better.

2. By all means go about super gluing wire together. Just make sure to send me the pictures when the glue melts and gets all over your mobo and GPU.

3. Why of all things would you want to put a plastic cover over it? For Gods sake isn't that what the Case is for?

4. So long as your not playing around with socks, wool, and a dry carpet. Then you really have nothing to fear.

5. It would have to be having a Celeron.
__________________

__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Very strange computer issues. No one knows the answers. Aiyana Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 9 03-29-2008 07:00 PM
Cant seem to fix this dang computer morrty Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 06-11-2007 11:09 PM
A Computer Building Guide.....by Elbatrop1 Elbatrop1 System Upgrades 31 04-07-2007 08:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.