Has anyone used the e4400 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-02-2007, 07:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
veg1992's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Has anyone used the e4400

has anyone used it yet? how is it overclocking-wise?

I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.

.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-02-2007, 08:13 AM   #2 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
hmammen's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default Re: Has anyone used the e4400

Its actually an excellent processor, its about on par with the e6300, and just like all core2duo's, it overclocks extremely well. The only difference is that one is an allendale core and the latter is a conroe.


Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 05-02-2007, 09:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: Has anyone used the e4400

You can see benchmarks from here
X-bit labs - Core 2 Duo E6420, E6320 and E4400 Plus Another 15 Sub-$200 Dual-Core Processors (page 8)

E4400 performs slightly better than E6300 in most cases. And it slightly slower than E6320

But I heard that E4400 can be overclocked better than both E6300 and E6320
maroon1 is offline  
Old 05-02-2007, 05:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 273
Default Re: Has anyone used the e4400

There's no point in getting the E4400 if you're overclocking. The E4300 will overclock the same for $20 less since the only difference is that the E4400 has a 10x multiplier instead of the 9x and the 10x will be useless since no half-decent RAM or mobo will be maxed out with the 9x. You can reach 3.0ghz with the 9x without even overclocking DDR2-667 RAM and any mobo that you could even consider for overclocking will be able to reach the FSB needed for it too.

But I heard that E4400 can be overclocked better than both E6300 and E6320
This is incorrect. Allendales usually require more voltage then Conroes and therefore can't reach as high most of the time. You do however need a better mobo and RAM for an E6320 because of its 7x multiplier.

Now the performance difference between E6's and E4's at the same clocks is pretty similar but the E6's obviously do beat them albeit not by all that much. If you're on a tight budget, go for the E4300. If you can stretch it, either E6x00 should be the right choice.
mrfluffles is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:26 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.