Harddrive Question... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-09-2007, 11:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default Harddrive Question...

Okay so i just got a new laptop, It only has 60GB of storage space so i was thinking of buying an external hard drive to keep at my desk. My question is, the Laptop only supports IDE Hard drives and not sata, Would i get any benefit out of buying a sata hard drive and sata enclosure when its going to be connected to my pc via usb 2.0?

i was thinking sata is faster than usb so therefor it would just be a waste of money when the usb would just be bottlenecking my performance right

should i just but a regular ATA hard drive and enclosure?
__________________

massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 11:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

go for whichever is more convenient or cheaper.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 11:15 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nitestick
go for whichever is more convenient or cheaper.
yeah but wouldi get etter performance with the sata over the pata?
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 11:18 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

no, hence the reasoning behind my answer . whichever is cheaper or convenient
Nitestick is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 11:20 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nitestick
no, hence the reasoning behind my answer . whichever is cheaper or convenient
lol alright.

just wondering, but is the reasoning behind your answer that the USB can only go so fast and that eitherway the maximum speed can be achieved with either sata and pata?
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 01:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 115
Default

It's the mechanical limitations of drives that limit their speed. You can have as large a connection you want, but the drive will only spin so fast.
flyboychuckles is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 08:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Don't they have IEEE 1394 External Hard Drives?
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 08:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

You might as well get an external enclosure that is sata, It isnt anymore expensive and would work in your comptuer of for some reason you needed it. (desktop)
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 11:26 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

but conversely, IDE (ATA, PATA) is pretty much universally compatible. i think perhaps the simplest solution would be to get a USB 2.0 enclosure with IDE. that way it has more compatibility i.e. USB is a feature on almosy every computer whereas IEEE1394 isn't, IDE/ATA is on almost every computer too.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 11:35 PM   #10 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

Ya, but it depends. If you have for instance a ds3 motherboard there is only 1 ide controller and that is occupied by the rom drives. But there are 6 sata connections. I just think that if it really doesn't matter because it will be using usb not any standard hdd interface.
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.