harddrive not visable - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-09-2008, 06:28 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default harddrive not visable

Ive just put a 500gig western digital sata drive as a storage disk in my computer. Its not having windows installed on it. Put it in and vista couldnt see it, but the bios could (that includes it not being there in disk management). I then plugged it into a XP machine, it saw it no problem, did a full format and put some files on it, so i know the drive itself is working. I then returned the disk to my vista machine and its still not visable (again not even showing up in disk management) Ive tried all the different sata ports ive tried different power leads and different sata cables. Im completely stuck now to why it isnt working, it should surely at least show up in disk management, done afew searchs and all the advice i can find is "look in disk management itll be there"

grateful for any advice.
__________________

__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 01-09-2008, 08:12 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
helix2301's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Datacenter
Posts: 280
Send a message via AIM to helix2301
Default Re: harddrive not visable

Check your safely removed hard wizard see if anything in there sometimes sata drives show up there and must be started and stopped.
__________________

__________________
lipanitech
http://www.thetechnologygeek.org
HP Pro, A+, Network+, Linux+, Security+, MCTS
helix2301 is offline  
Old 01-09-2008, 08:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default Re: harddrive not visable

thats found 5 "nForce RAID Devices" which i guess is my 5 hard drives. But how does that help?
__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 01-09-2008, 09:39 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
helix2301's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Datacenter
Posts: 280
Send a message via AIM to helix2301
Default Re: harddrive not visable

try plugging in that hdd into one of the known spots that a hdd already works see if maybe there is a problem with the raid control controlling more then 5 HDD.
__________________
lipanitech
http://www.thetechnologygeek.org
HP Pro, A+, Network+, Linux+, Security+, MCTS
helix2301 is offline  
Old 01-09-2008, 12:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 302
Default Re: harddrive not visable

What you need to do is go to Disk Management under system tools in the control panel and format that secondary hardrive for the NTSC petition. It should automatically ask you to format the second disk after you open the system tools.
__________________
Current Gaming Rig Running Windows 7 Ultimate
Q9450 @ 3.0GHz 1.200v // Gigabyte EP45T-UD3P // 3GB Kingston 1800Mhz DDR3 9-8-8-24-2T //
Thermaltake Toughpower 850W // 2 Raptor X's in RAID 0 // Antec Twelve Hundred Case
GTX 275 // Xigamatek Rifle 120mm // Creative XtremeGamer X-Fi
dark strike1 is offline  
Old 01-09-2008, 06:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default Re: harddrive not visable

Quote:
Originally Posted by dark strike1 View Post
What you need to do is go to Disk Management under system tools in the control panel and format that secondary hardrive for the NTSC petition. It should automatically ask you to format the second disk after you open the system tools.
as i say ive been in there and its not visable to format.

Quote:
try plugging in that hdd into one of the known spots that a hdd already works see if maybe there is a problem with the raid control controlling more then 5 HDD.
tried it instead of the two 120gbs (ie it was only running the 2 raptors and the 500gb, and the 500gb using exactly the same cables as of of the 120gb) didnt make any difference.
__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 01-30-2008, 08:38 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default Re: harddrive not visable

this is really getting on my nerves now. ive now tried the drive in a different machine running vista business the same as me and it picked it up no problem. Like i say my bios see the drive, my raid setup sees it. but vista doesnt.

help!
__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 01-30-2008, 09:55 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 458
Default Re: harddrive not visable

couple things i can think of
1) the harddrive is set to 3.0GB/s sata speed and mobo only supports 1.5GB/s
2) I had this happen to me on my mobo where it wouldnt recognize a drive, i had to go into the bios under the harddrive section, and change the detection of the HDD from auto to LBA
__________________
Intel E8400
Zalman 9500AT
evga 8800gt dual-slot cooler
4gig (2x2gb)g.skill ddr2 1066
gigabyte p43-ds3L
Antec sonata II mid tower
200gb Seagate HDD, 500gb Seagate HDD, 1TB Seagate HDD
bkolk is offline  
Old 01-30-2008, 07:35 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default Re: harddrive not visable

my only option for LBA is auto or disabled. ive tried both it made no difference. . .
__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 01-30-2008, 07:44 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default Re: harddrive not visable

fixed it, turned out i had all the SATA ports with raid enabled so because the 500gig was not being used in raid it couldnt not see it.
__________________

__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading Harddrive Xarulsis New Systems | Building and Buying 2 11-11-2007 10:10 PM
External harddrive for all torrents/movies etc to avoid... oxfile84 Laptops and Notebooks 6 09-21-2007 11:29 PM
Why is my harddrive full ! there is nothing installed ! illnastyimpreza Microsoft Windows and Software 12 07-22-2007 08:39 PM
Spontaneous Harddrive Failure Mortiffer Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 06-14-2007 04:13 AM
any program that will copy harddrive to another Max Power Microsoft Windows and Software 17 06-07-2007 05:16 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.