Hard Drives - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-05-2009, 01:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Little Rock, AR
Posts: 33
Default Hard Drives

I ordered two 1.5 TB HDs with the original intention of using them in Raid 1.

I am seriously considering buying four 750-1TB hard drives and using them in raid 5.

(btw, I am using a Western Digital VelociRaptor WD1500HLFS 150GB 10000 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive (bare drive) for my OS and main programs)

Opinions???
__________________

NickPapageorgio is offline  
Old 01-05-2009, 01:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Gallman, MS, USA
Posts: 28
Default Re: Hard Drives

Frak me! What do you need all that space for?
__________________

Datalyss is offline  
Old 01-05-2009, 01:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 187
Default Re: Hard Drives

Quote:
Originally Posted by Datalyss View Post
Frak me! What do you need all that space for?
Showing off
__________________
Intel Q9550 ( 3.84ghz OC on air)
Asus Rampage Formula
OCZ Platinum dual channel memory 8gig
Vista Ultimate 64bit
Radeon 4870 512mb

[img]//www.speedtest.net/result/396631319.png[/img]
Michowski is offline  
Old 01-05-2009, 01:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Hard Drives

As i said on your profile the 750gb is the best price per gb if you keep the cheapest drives I think they were Western digital when I checked earlier but you can see for yourself.

4x750gb drives = 2.25tb of usable space with one drive lost as a striped redundancy across all drives. If one of the drives fails you can rebuild the array with the remaining 3 other drives. If 2 drives are lost at the same time then you will most likely of lost the data across all drives in the raid array.

I would use the 4x750gb personally I worked out it was
1.5tb= $11.5 per gb
1tb= $10 per gb
750gb&500gb = $8.3333**** per gb

This was worked out by saying 1tb= 1000gb which is ofcourse not true but easier for calculation. The price per gb for the tb+ drives would be higher then I put above but as I did the same calculation for both the results are valid for comparison.
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 01-05-2009, 01:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Hard Drives

Keep in mind you can run a raid 5 with only 3 disk drives. With that said the 750gb drives are the best bang for the buck. 3 750's in raid 5 would net you 1.5tb.

As for using 1.5tb of drive space I have well over 1tb used on my system. Once you start dealing with video the bytes go quickly. The more the better imo.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 01-05-2009, 02:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Hard Drives

Its a minimum of 3 drives I am sure as I had a raid 5 array a few years back with 8 disks
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 01-05-2009, 02:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Hard Drives

Yeah sorry you can have as many drives as your adapter will allow. I just meant he only needed 3 and not 4 if he wanted.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 01-05-2009, 02:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Hard Drives

Raid 5 is also dynamic I think but not 100% sure may be raid 10 so you can add drives the more you need.
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 01-05-2009, 02:35 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Hard Drives

As I understand it with a raid5 on a hardware controller you could add another drive and rebuild the array without data loss. I have not tried it nor would I with out a proper backup but it is possible.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 01-05-2009, 02:42 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Little Rock, AR
Posts: 33
Default Re: Hard Drives

Thank you!

The cheapest 750GB at newegg is the:
Western Digital Caviar GP WD7500AACS 750GB 5400 to 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive for $69.99 each.

Is that too slow though?

The cheapest 7200RPM 32MB is the:
Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 ST3750330AS 750GB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive for $79.99 each.

THANKS AGAIN!
__________________

NickPapageorgio is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Newegg Sale on 750GB hard drives 35g700 System Upgrades 7 07-16-2008 12:06 AM
Control Engineering Win2000/Remote Control Software, Going Network david55 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 11-28-2007 10:06 AM
IDE Hard Drives objecterror Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 5 07-14-2007 01:22 AM
Hard Drives sailpog New Systems | Building and Buying 10 06-03-2007 03:21 PM
How versatile are two hard drives in one box? darsunt New Systems | Building and Buying 1 04-24-2007 12:25 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.