Hard Drive Specs? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-16-2006, 11:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
objecterror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 731
Arrow Hard Drive Specs?

I was a bit worried at the specs. right now i have a

Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD2500KS 250GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s

now, since i've gotten it, a tech where i work mentioned that some 720 gig hard drives were selling cheap. i checked newegg and i see them at 400+ not cheap at all, but, aside from the physical size, i noticed that a few other hard drives have different amounts of cache but cost more.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822152046

Now, i have no problem with money, since he mentioned a higher storage drive but, what should i be looking for or what are the bigger differences in hard drives. does one need a lot of cache or rpms? what do the RPMS do for performance and the cache as well. please, any information will be greatly appreciated.
__________________

objecterror is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 11:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 566
Send a message via AIM to reckliss
Default

ideally for performance you want a 10krpm drive with 16mb cache (less space)
ideally for storage is 7,200rpm 16mb cache and alot of space
__________________

reckliss is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 11:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
objecterror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 731
Default

Thanks, now, i have the drive mentioned below, can you or anyone else narrow a enclosure for it? iam pretty set as to which internal iam going to get.
objecterror is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 11:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 566
Send a message via AIM to reckliss
Default

an external hdd enclosure?
reckliss is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 11:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
objecterror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 731
Default

Yeah, see, i want to turn my existing 250 gig internal drive, into an external drive. i've seen a few but, i honestly don't know where to turn, it uses a SATA cable, red, black tip and small to connect to my motherboard, does that work the same for an enclosure?
__________________
"After it's all said and done, more will be said than done." -- Quote by Somebody

Steam @ objecterror
objecterror is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 11:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 566
Send a message via AIM to reckliss
Default

so your buying a new 400gb hdd? if so i would stick with western digital and seagate.

This looks like it fits your needs
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...785959&CatId=0
its sata to esata or to usb 2.0 supports up to 400gb
__________________

reckliss is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.