Hard Drive Salvaging... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-18-2006, 04:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 55
Send a message via AIM to saxofoner
Default Hard Drive Salvaging...

With my current setup, I've got only one hard drive, it's a 160 GB, but I want to install Linux for dual-booting. Unfortunately, I never partitioned my drive, and don't want to now. But today, I was invited to take what I wanted from some old computers that were going to be trashed- I got a:
15GB Quantum Fireball lct 15

I know nothing about the "Quantum Fireball" or even if I can use it with my system. That's why I'm asking.

I found http://www.itreviews.co.uk/hardware/h164b.htm but I still don't know what I'm looking at here. Can I use it as a slave drive, and how?
__________________

saxofoner is offline  
Old 07-18-2006, 04:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default

You should know that you're looking for the interface type. That link you provided says it's EIDE. Think of it as just IDE. I'm pretty sure you can just use a normal IDE cable for it. If you don't know what that is, it's the big, flat (usually grey) cable that connects to your optical drive and hard drives.
__________________

__________________
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Old 07-18-2006, 06:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 55
Send a message via AIM to saxofoner
Default

My other hard drive is SATA, can I have one of each?
saxofoner is offline  
Old 07-18-2006, 08:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Yes. Simply install the drive as IDE in cable select and your system will read both drives. The Sata will remain the primary boot drive and the system will find the Fireball after XP loads up. If it doens't show up initially you will have to go to: control panel>administrative tools> diskmanagemnet and the drive may appear as unallocated if it does not show up in my computer after windows finds the drive. If it shows up as unallocated simply right click in the drive panel and then allocate the dirve with nTFS and it will now be recognized in windows My Computer.
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 07-18-2006, 08:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 55
Send a message via AIM to saxofoner
Default

And then to install linux... How do I delete EVERYTHING on the drive? Or do I? I guess I need to read up on that, myself.
saxofoner is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.