Hard drive and Raid preformance Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-13-2010, 07:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Waxahachie, Texas
Posts: 4
Default Hard drive and Raid preformance Question

I'm new to this forum, and I'm sure this has been asked in previous situations... Currently right now I have a single 7200RPM 1TB drive... Today I purchased another identical 7200RPM 1TB drive, same brand and everything. I placed the drives into raid together, and reloaded windows and now my PC. Is back running, it's hard to tell if it's actually recieving a preformance increase. Can anyone tell me a benchmark or a way to find out if it infact is?

I set up Raid 0

with 2

7200RPM 1tb harddrives
__________________

De4dD0g is offline  
Old 11-13-2010, 07:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default Re: Hard drive and Raid preformance Question

So you installed your RAID drivers and in Windows installation it recognized them as one disk and not two, correct?

Everest has a drive benchmark utility, that's what I use. Best way to see if you get a performance increase is to benchmark one drive before then again with the drives in RAID0.
__________________

__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 11-13-2010, 08:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Waxahachie, Texas
Posts: 4
Default Re: Hard drive and Raid preformance Question

Yep, I had one drive initially I bought another one, and when I set up raid, at first windows didn't even recongize the drives during the installation, I had to install "raid" drivers from a USB drive that way it would recongize it. Now once it did recongize the drives it said I had a 189,000GB hard drive when I really have 2 seperate drives... When It goes through my bios it says I have 2 raid drives in Raid 0, unfortunally I didn't ever clock my single drive.. So probaly wouldn't do me any good.
De4dD0g is offline  
Old 11-13-2010, 08:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: Hard drive and Raid preformance Question

This is just a warning but be sure you have a proper backup of any important info on those drives. RAID 0 effectively doubles the chance of data loss since if anything happens to one drive you will end up losing all of the data on both drives.

The AS SSD benchmark is a good way to measure drive performance. Because if was designed for SSDs it can take a very long time to run on normal hard drives but IMO it still useful because it focuses on random read/write performance which is much more significant in terms of how responsive and fast your systems feels than sequential performance which most drive benchmarks measure.

AS SSD/HDD Benchmark Thread
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 11-13-2010, 08:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Waxahachie, Texas
Posts: 4
Default Re: Hard drive and Raid preformance Question

Not really much that's important to me.. It's just a gaming machine.. I thought Raid 0 would give me more preformance than it really did though. This test is taking forever to run as well.
De4dD0g is offline  
Old 11-13-2010, 08:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Waxahachie, Texas
Posts: 4
Default Re: Hard drive and Raid preformance Question

Just for future refrence is it more worthwhile to just get a super fast 10,000RPM maybe 6gb SATA drive rather than messing with Raid?
De4dD0g is offline  
Old 11-14-2010, 10:56 AM   #7 (permalink)
Intelligent Metalhead
 
redfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: North Shore Massachusetts
Posts: 345
Default Re: Hard drive and Raid preformance Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by De4dD0g View Post
Yep, I had one drive initially I bought another one, and when I set up raid, at first windows didn't even recongize the drives during the installation, I had to install "raid" drivers from a USB drive that way it would recongize it. Now once it did recongize the drives it said I had a 189,000GB hard drive when I really have 2 seperate drives... When It goes through my bios it says I have 2 raid drives in Raid 0, unfortunally I didn't ever clock my single drive.. So probaly wouldn't do me any good.
You have your RAID set up correctly. This is what you should be seeing. You won't notice a performance increase if you are bottlenecked by another piece of hardware.... What's your system?
__________________
AMD FX-8350 Black Edition
ATI Radeon R9 280 x2 Crossfire
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
Corsair Vengeance 1866MHz 2x8GB
EVGA Supernova 850 G2
Corsair H80i
Cooler Master HAF 932

redfish is offline  
Old 11-14-2010, 06:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: Hard drive and Raid preformance Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by De4dD0g View Post
Just for future refrence is it more worthwhile to just get a super fast 10,000RPM maybe 6gb SATA drive rather than messing with Raid?
It's almost never worth buying a 10,000RPM drive, they aren't that much faster than regular 7200rpm drives but cost a lot more. If you want performance a SSD for your OS and apps + a large 7200rpm drive for storing your games and data is the best option.
__________________

__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Raid Hard Drive Question RobertXYZ System Upgrades 6 01-04-2008 09:00 AM
replacing single hard drive with 2 hard drives in raid 0 therocker39 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 11-23-2007 10:50 AM
HDD Hard Drive and RAID OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 6 07-20-2007 04:31 AM
hard drive RAID lancec2c30 System Upgrades 6 05-25-2006 08:37 AM
Adding RAID drive to existing hard drive? robellis System Upgrades 5 01-06-2006 02:24 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.