Hard Drive Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-22-2006, 11:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Whirlwind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,400
Default Hard Drive Question

I am going to be putting in 2 sata hard drives in my new build.

An 80GB for the OS and a 320 GB for games and storage

Should I just put in the 80GB HD first and then after everything is done, windows loaded, drivers installed, ect., add the 2nd HD.....or should I just put them both in from the start.

If I just put the 80GB in first for the OS. Then add the 320 GB HD, will I be able to format and partition the new hard drive right from windows?

Any help is appreciated....thanks.
__________________

__________________
Cooler Master CM Stacker Case
Asus P8Z68 V Pro/Gen 3
Intel i5-2500K
Cooler Master V6 GT Heat Sink
8 GB G-Skill DDR 3 1600
GTX 570 SLI
Asus Xonar Essence STX Sound Card
Grado RS1i & AKG Q701 Headphones
MAD EAR + HD Headphone Amp
Corsair CMPSU 850 Watt
Western Digital Black 500 GB
Crucial M4 64 GB SSD For Windows 7 64 Bit
Samsung 2494SW 24" LCD
Logitech G5 Mouse
Logitech G110 Keyboard
Whirlwind is offline  
Old 12-23-2006, 12:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

I don't think you can partition a new drive right from windows without Partition Magic. I could be wrong about that tho
__________________

__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 12-23-2006, 12:05 AM   #3 (permalink)
WOOOOOOOO
 
bobojuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Miami
Posts: 818
Send a message via AIM to bobojuice Send a message via Yahoo to bobojuice
Default

You can do it either way. All that's gonna happen is youll see both hard drives as choices to format and install your windows partition on. I would just plop them both in install the os then format your secondary drive through disk management.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent
It would be bad if you had a divorse over something stupid like batteries.
LETS DANCE!!!
bobojuice is offline  
Old 12-23-2006, 12:08 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 319
Send a message via AIM to BoysNightOut
Default

Just do both at same time. Create partitions in Windows setup how you want, install OS to primary partition of Drive 1, easy as pie is how it works.
__________________
AMD 3400+ 2.4GHz
1GB DDR Crucial RAM
WD 120GB(2x)/250GB
BoysNightOut is offline  
Old 12-23-2006, 08:52 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Whirlwind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,400
Default

Thanks guys. I guess I will just install both at once.
__________________
Cooler Master CM Stacker Case
Asus P8Z68 V Pro/Gen 3
Intel i5-2500K
Cooler Master V6 GT Heat Sink
8 GB G-Skill DDR 3 1600
GTX 570 SLI
Asus Xonar Essence STX Sound Card
Grado RS1i & AKG Q701 Headphones
MAD EAR + HD Headphone Amp
Corsair CMPSU 850 Watt
Western Digital Black 500 GB
Crucial M4 64 GB SSD For Windows 7 64 Bit
Samsung 2494SW 24" LCD
Logitech G5 Mouse
Logitech G110 Keyboard
Whirlwind is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.