Hard Drive LED - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-03-2006, 07:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 61
Default Hard Drive LED

Hi,

I am not so sure my hard drive LED is working. Is there anyway I can check if it works? Is there anything that needs to be installed, like a driver, in order for the LED to light up, because I haven't seen it light up yet. I also know for a fact that the wire is connected right, since I just checked it. This is just a little issue that is bugging me.

Thanks,
Ted
__________________

xtmpacygax is offline  
Old 08-03-2006, 08:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 45
Send a message via AIM to Ov3RBliK1
Default

Not sure how yours is but for me I just plug a little two pin connector into a slot on my motherboard. Either way it should be labeled. If it's the same for you check the manual that came with your motherboard, you might have it in the wrong place. Or the LED could be broken I suppose.

You might want to check this out:
http://www.zapwizard.com/Guides/IDE/
__________________

__________________
<font size=1>
ASUS P4R800-VM / Intel P4 2.0GHz 478
ATi X800XT All-In-Wonder 256MB AGP 8x
1GB (2 x 512MB) Kingston PC3200 DDR400
Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Gamer
Western Digital 120GB + 40GB
Razer Diamondback Plasma / Ideazon ZBoard
Ov3RBliK1 is offline  
Old 08-03-2006, 08:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default

no drivers should ever be needed for led lights

I'm assuming you built this pc and led light you are referring to is the hd led activity light on your case?

Easiest or simplest thing I can think of is...some mbs have 2 areas with labels for HD led. I don't know why this is, it's peculiar and I never bothered to figure it out ;p. If one of those doesn't do it, move the connector to the other.
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 08-03-2006, 08:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 45
Send a message via AIM to Ov3RBliK1
Default

You might also have mixed up the Power LED and the HDD LED or something.
__________________
<font size=1>
ASUS P4R800-VM / Intel P4 2.0GHz 478
ATi X800XT All-In-Wonder 256MB AGP 8x
1GB (2 x 512MB) Kingston PC3200 DDR400
Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Gamer
Western Digital 120GB + 40GB
Razer Diamondback Plasma / Ideazon ZBoard
Ov3RBliK1 is offline  
Old 08-03-2006, 08:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 61
Default

I am pretty sure that the wire is in the right spot and it is connected right, but I will check again. I know that the Power LED and the HDD LED aren't mixed up, because the Power LED is working correctly. Also, how can I check if the LED is working, because maybe I just don't see it running, but really it is. What can I run to activate the LED?
xtmpacygax is offline  
Old 08-03-2006, 09:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
Sui
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Socal
Posts: 665
Default

You know if you plug it in backwards it doesn't work? This is why my case has no lights, then they seem to break from being pluged in backwards.... I don't know its retarded, its just a stupid led anyway.
Sui is offline  
Old 08-03-2006, 09:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 61
Default

Really, when I first plugged all my wires in I plugged them in backwards. If that is what is wrong with my HDD LED, then I am glad it is the only one that got broken. It would suck if my Power Switch or Reset Switch got broken.
xtmpacygax is offline  
Old 08-03-2006, 09:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 45
Send a message via AIM to Ov3RBliK1
Default

If you think about it there should only be one way to plug them in, even though I'm pretty sure I've set mine backwards a few times and nothing bad happened. Obviously you'll want to turn out the lights and see if the LED is still working first. If that doesn't work you can try purchasing a new LED. They're cheap. Or you could try doing that mod in the link above, but I'm not sure how safe it is.
__________________
<font size=1>
ASUS P4R800-VM / Intel P4 2.0GHz 478
ATi X800XT All-In-Wonder 256MB AGP 8x
1GB (2 x 512MB) Kingston PC3200 DDR400
Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Gamer
Western Digital 120GB + 40GB
Razer Diamondback Plasma / Ideazon ZBoard
Ov3RBliK1 is offline  
Old 08-03-2006, 10:03 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 61
Default

I will take a look at it.
xtmpacygax is offline  
Old 08-04-2006, 05:16 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default

lol they wont break from being put in backwards....
__________________

alexsabree is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.