hard drive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-21-2006, 08:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 110
Send a message via MSN to valcan222
Default hard drive

hey everyone, as some of you might have read I am haveing major hard drive issues. so i have decided to get a new hard drive, I dont want to spend a ton but i do want decent space and good realiability. i am looking to spend less than 200 dolars. and preferable over 100gigs. one question. once I get a new hard drive can i keep useing the one I have, even though it isint working right now? i mean would it work ok if i didnt use it for wendows and just used it for say storing files, word documents ect...? what do you think? and as for what my comp has in it.
Motherboard: Asus m2n32-SLI Deluxe
PSU: Antec TPII-550ATX
CPU: AMD A64 X2 3800
MEM: 2 gigs Corsair
VGA: Evga GF 7600gt

and currently i have a western digital 250 gig hard drive.
so what do you think?
__________________

valcan222 is offline  
Old 11-21-2006, 09:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822136004


Excellent deal if you want to spend that much.


__________________

__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 11-21-2006, 09:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

here is a nice one if you wanna budget a bit on your 200
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822148140


Or, are you looking for something with High RPM and Low GB like a 160GB raptor or something? have to be a bit more specific
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 11-21-2006, 10:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 110
Send a message via MSN to valcan222
Default

well, i will be useing this for gameing, so if a faster hard drive would be better, it has ok room then that would be good, but still not above 200, and do you guys think that i can still use this hard drive for storage just not for windows? what do you guys think?
__________________
ASUS M2N32-SLI Deluxe
EVGA 8800GTS 640MB
2 GIGS Corsair RAM
Segate 400gig hard drive
WD 160gig External Hard drive
AMD X2 3800
Antec 550watt psu
Acer Black 20" DVI Widescreen LCD Monitor

http://img57.imageshack.us/img57/5826/1937sd2.gif
http://img295.imageshack.us/img295/8831/8064gs9.jpg
valcan222 is offline  
Old 11-21-2006, 11:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

well, I dont see how a harddrive can just die unless it is physically damaged. you should be able to still use it for storage. Just install windows on your new hd and when your system is set up put the old one in and see if it is recognized. I say just go for a 320gig WD or something with a 16mb cache.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 11-22-2006, 03:16 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 110
Send a message via MSN to valcan222
Default

ok, I plan to go with the one suggested above, the 95 dollar Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ST3320620AS (Perpendicular Recording Technology) 320GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM. the only thing i have to ask is, well I dont really know how to put it in, i know i know read the sticky, well i did, i still dont get it, but another question compleatly, what is sata? I hear sata cable sata 1 bla bla bla, i dont know what that is lol, can someone care to explane lol. but anyone who has a link to a guide for installing the hard drive please tell me where it is, or post a link, i am off to google to search for one for my self but if anyone has a good one feel free to post it lol.
__________________
ASUS M2N32-SLI Deluxe
EVGA 8800GTS 640MB
2 GIGS Corsair RAM
Segate 400gig hard drive
WD 160gig External Hard drive
AMD X2 3800
Antec 550watt psu
Acer Black 20" DVI Widescreen LCD Monitor

http://img57.imageshack.us/img57/5826/1937sd2.gif
http://img295.imageshack.us/img295/8831/8064gs9.jpg
valcan222 is offline  
Old 11-22-2006, 07:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 110
Send a message via MSN to valcan222
Default

well i couldent find that many guides to installing a hard drive all the way threw going into the bios if the comp dosent pick it up automaticly, so anyone have a links of if they care to just write what i have to do that would be great, thanks.
__________________

__________________
ASUS M2N32-SLI Deluxe
EVGA 8800GTS 640MB
2 GIGS Corsair RAM
Segate 400gig hard drive
WD 160gig External Hard drive
AMD X2 3800
Antec 550watt psu
Acer Black 20" DVI Widescreen LCD Monitor

http://img57.imageshack.us/img57/5826/1937sd2.gif
http://img295.imageshack.us/img295/8831/8064gs9.jpg
valcan222 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.