Hard Dizzle Drives - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-27-2009, 03:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Bake a Pretty Cake!
 
Spit-wad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 904
Default Hard Dizzle Drives

So I thought I had like 100 gigs to spare, but I looked today and apparently my 500GB drive is full.

Time to buy more of that yummy cheap hard drive space.

Specs in sig. I have a 500gb internal, which I currently backup to a 500gb external.

2 questions:

1. I was thinking about getting 2 1TB drives and doing RAID1.
My motherboard says "Integrated SATA 3Gb/s with RAID function" on gigabyte's website (ga-ep35-ds3r)
Does that mean I don't need a raid controller?
If not, recommend one to me?

Is it easy to setup RAID1? Never had more than one internal hard drive before...

2. Right now, these are the two I'm looking at:
Newegg.com - SAMSUNG Spinpoint F1 HD103UJ 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive - Internal Hard Drives
Newegg.com - Western Digital Caviar Black WD1001FALS 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drives - Internal Hard Drives

I'm planning on leaving my OS and programs installed on my 500 gig, so the 1TB drives will pretty much just be storage.

Does that mean it would be better to get the Caviar Green?
Newegg.com - Western Digital Caviar Green WD10EADS 1TB 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive - Internal Hard Drives

Which one should I go with? I'd love to save the $10x2=$20, but if another hard drive is worth it, then it's worth considering.

Not how I intended to spend my birthday money, but I guess it could be worse :P

Thanks for any responses
__________________

__________________
Spit-wad is offline  
Old 05-27-2009, 04:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Hard Dizzle Drives

IMO the green's are just fine for data drives.

Raid1 is nice for important data where you need up time if a drive fails but do not plan on having it as your backup solution.

off topic:
Darn Barcelona just scored another.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 05-27-2009, 04:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default Re: Hard Dizzle Drives

RAID is a piece of cake to set up. You just need to enable it in the BIOS (usually under "integrated peripherals" or similar), set the drives to be used in the array (in the RAID settings), enter RAID setup after reboot to select the type of RAID you want (in this case mirrored/1), and you are up. Where you're leaving your OS in place you will need to install the drivers and hopefully you won't have any issues after that.

I would go with whichever WD drive is cheaper and/or has the best ratings.
__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Old 05-27-2009, 04:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Bake a Pretty Cake!
 
Spit-wad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 904
Default Re: Hard Dizzle Drives

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hefemeister View Post
IMO the green's are just fine for data drives.

Raid1 is nice for important data where you need up time if a drive fails but do not plan on having it as your backup solution.
The only reason I'm getting 2 is to have it as backup... I thought RAID1 = mirroring, which seems like a backup to me. I don't need 100% up time, but I'd rather not have another external hard drive... how is raid1 not a backup solution?
__________________
Spit-wad is offline  
Old 05-27-2009, 04:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default Re: Hard Dizzle Drives

It is a backup solution. The point of having RAID 1 is for redundancy of data. If one drive fails the array can be rebuilt from the existing drive (once the bad drive is replaced.)

EDIT: I think what Hefe might be referring to is the fact that you can't count on 2 TB of data being available as backup when it's in a RAID 1. Since one drive mirrors the other it is essentially like that second drive doesn't exist (in terms of space available.)
__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Old 05-27-2009, 04:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: Hard Dizzle Drives

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spit-wad View Post
The only reason I'm getting 2 is to have it as backup... I thought RAID1 = mirroring, which seems like a backup to me. I don't need 100% up time, but I'd rather not have another external hard drive... how is raid1 not a backup solution?
yea but if 1 fails they both fail...that's why it's not good for backup


i don't think you'll need a raid controller. I think they are for boards without integrated and i think they take some strain off the cpu
__________________

Core i7 920 @ 3.0Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5
6gb G.Skill 1600mhz/9-9-9-24
Corsair 750XT
EVGA GTX 260---216core
WD 640gb
14590 3dmarks @ stock
wafflehammer is offline  
Old 05-27-2009, 04:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Hard Dizzle Drives

If you get a nasty virus on one drive it is on the other.
If you accidentally delete a file it deleted off both drives.
If a file is corrupted it is corrupted on both drives.
I have had people with raid1 and one drive failed and they did not notice until the second drive failed.

Do not get me wrong raid1 is great insurance against a drive failure. For home use and home data it should suffice. Just giving you all the info. Sometimes it just gives a false sense of security.

I have installed raid1 and raid5 for many businesses but still run a backup protocol.

Edit:
Quote:
Originally Posted by synergy View Post
EDIT: I think what Hefe might be referring to is the fact that you can't count on 2 TB of data being available as backup when it's in a RAID 1. Since one drive mirrors the other it is essentially like that second drive doesn't exist (in terms of space available.)
I was aware that raid1 is mirrored so you only get 1tb.

Quote:
Originally Posted by wafflehammer View Post
yea but if 1 fails they both fail...that's why it's not good for backup

You are thinking or raid0 which is a stripped array where if one drive fails all data is gone.
raid1 one is a mirrored array where if one drive fails data is still intact.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 05-27-2009, 05:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default Re: Hard Dizzle Drives

Oh right, I see what you're saying. Yea, it's more for assurance against hardware failure. I've also had RAID 1 arrays nuked because of file corruption and there's nothing you can do but rebuild it. However, if one drive fails that doesn't mean they are both toast.
__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Old 05-27-2009, 05:05 PM   #9 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: Hard Dizzle Drives

http://www.techist.com/forums/1549962-post17.html my explanation from a little while ago.
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 05-27-2009, 05:14 PM   #10 (permalink)
Bake a Pretty Cake!
 
Spit-wad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 904
Default Re: Hard Dizzle Drives

ok, so maybe raid isn't what I want.


So... is there automatic backup software that typically comes with external hard drives that I can use with an internal? So I would just format and install the 2 drives, and have one automatically backup every night or something?
__________________

__________________
Spit-wad is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reliable External Hard Drives Chazzer3 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 01-16-2009 05:03 AM
Hard Drives NickPapageorgio New Systems | Building and Buying 33 01-06-2009 02:47 PM
Icons for hard disc drives. mssssee2 Web Graphics and Design 6 01-05-2008 03:34 PM
Control Engineering Win2000/Remote Control Software, Going Network david55 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 11-28-2007 10:06 AM
IDE Hard Drives objecterror Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 5 07-14-2007 01:22 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.