H/D to hold O/S and programs - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-28-2009, 04:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LONDON
Posts: 902
Send a message via MSN to robina_80
Default H/D to hold O/S and programs

hi guys,

how big of an H/D space do you think you need to install/run the O/S and some games and programs, i think you need between 60-80gb, currently my windows 7 64 bit takes 20gb and games programs added on there altogether is 41 gb and im just curious what all you guys think, im looking at this

Scan.co.uk: CT64M225 - 64GB Crucial M225, MLC-Flash, 2.5" SATA 3Gb/s SSD, Read 250MB/s, Write 200MB/s, 64MB Cache
__________________

robina_80 is offline  
Old 12-28-2009, 05:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default Re: H/D to hold O/S and programs

Why limit yourself? Is there a reason you can't go above "minimum"?

New'ish machines can easily handle waaaaay more than 64Gb, so i'm simply curious as to why you would stay below 100 - 200 Gb?
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Old 12-28-2009, 05:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LONDON
Posts: 902
Send a message via MSN to robina_80
Default Re: H/D to hold O/S and programs

cos its only the O/S i want on it and some programs also the SSD HD are really expensive so the cheapest are the small GB ones
robina_80 is offline  
Old 12-28-2009, 05:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: H/D to hold O/S and programs

when i was using my ssd in my main comp it was a 32gig...holds the os, some main programs and maybe one or 2 games that i play often. The rest of the stuff i had on a 1tb and a 500gb.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 12-28-2009, 05:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: H/D to hold O/S and programs

I got the 120GB OCZ Agility. The size of the OS will continue to grow as more and more updates arrive. And games always seem to get bigger and bigger. Plus you don't want to fill it all the way up, you need to have a free zone space.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 12-28-2009, 05:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: H/D to hold O/S and programs

Quote:
Originally Posted by brady View Post
Why limit yourself? Is there a reason you can't go above "minimum"?

New'ish machines can easily handle waaaaay more than 64Gb, so i'm simply curious as to why you would stay below 100 - 200 Gb?
Probably because it's an SSD and they're ungodly expensive in capacities higher than 64GB. Which is in no way minimum; you get them as small as 16GB.

Anyway, 64GB is plenty for OS and programs (excluding games as programs).
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How To Change Default Programs In Windows Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 11-16-2009 10:52 AM
Software UpToDate Finds Updated Versions Of Windows Programs Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 10-09-2009 08:17 AM
Too many useless programs load up upon startup. Help! dannyual767 Microsoft Windows and Software 1 10-21-2008 12:50 PM
New O/s..where are all my programs? Monkey Microsoft Windows and Software 13 09-19-2008 08:07 AM
Add or Remove Programs: doesn't work! White_Wolf Microsoft Windows and Software 9 02-12-2008 11:35 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.