guys im kinda in a weird posistion... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-20-2006, 12:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 130
Send a message via AIM to Fuxy_Muxy
Default guys im kinda in a weird posistion...

ok well, im only 13 years old and i currently own (and my sisters') a HP a810n..
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...lance&n=541966
ive added a 430 watt PSU, 17in LCD (crappy 16ms) 512 OCZ Ram, and a 6600GT a while ago, and thinking about upgrading...

the thing is, right now i have about $500... and during summer i plan on getting a couple $200 from working with my grandparents and neighbors... so what do u guys think...here are my choices:

1. Buy a 7900GT and 2x 1GB RAM -right now *and keep this computer in the "family room" where my sisters are on a lot and sometime get to kick me off...

2.In a month, wait till AMD drops prices and get a X2 3800 and a 7900GT and another 512...

3. Buy a nice 19in LCD and a 7900GT or a 7600GT AND 512 ram when i have enough

4. Save up till end of 8th grade...(a year) when ill have like $1,800 and can get my own computer...and have to put up with this computer...


well... options 1, 2, and 3 are upgrades right now or in like a month or so...but if i got those, i would also save up till a new computer at the end of 8th grade (when i can officially have a computer in my room ) but it wouldnt be as nice though...its pretty much a decision to upgrade now and get a worse computer in a year, or get nothing now and get a nice one in a year...

its either 1, 2, 3, or 4...but u can also change w.e. u want, but im on a budget of $500 or so...
__________________

Fuxy_Muxy is offline  
Old 06-20-2006, 12:43 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

So if you upgrade now, how much do you think you would have saved up for a computer in a year?
__________________

__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 06-20-2006, 12:49 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

I'd save up for a new PC. That one will last you a little bit longer so why not get a beast when you can.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 06-20-2006, 01:14 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 130
Send a message via AIM to Fuxy_Muxy
Default

well im not even sure though...i get about $400 a year for allowance...and in 8th grade i will be working a lil and get like $300 a sports season...(for an after school sports program thing) and this summer im guessing im gonna get like $200 from working w/ my grandpa...and like $100 w/ my neighbor...

so...


500 (right now) +400 (allowance)+ 1,200 ( *$300x 4*:after school work)+200 (grandpa) +100 (neighbor)= $2,400...

whoa i think i got this all wrong...i guess ill have like 2,400 in a year without upgrading...and like 1,900 with upgrading...

im almost sure im probably not gonna get this much though..lol so i would like subtract a couple hundred bucks cuz i like to buy small things...
__________________
play bf2142?
join Bloody Pandas!
http://com1.runboard.com/bbloodypandas
Fuxy_Muxy is offline  
Old 06-20-2006, 01:27 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

Even if you only have about $1,200 you can make a really nice system. And you don't have to spend all $500 right now to upgrade. Maybe upgrade to a 7600GT and some more RAM.
__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 06-20-2006, 02:19 AM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default

Right now, your rig is a socket 754 and cannot overclock.

My advice is to make due and build your own. AMD will be cutting prices in a month or so. AM2 may be the new thing, but 939's are fully mature and we know how to tweak them.

Save your money and snap up key parts when you can find them on a good sale.

Quote:
And you don't have to spend all $500 right now to upgrade. Maybe upgrade to a 7600GT and some more RAM.
A gig of RAM can give you a decent boost. 754's can't do dual-channel, though.

If your current card can cut it, don't upgrade it... you'd be throwing away your money.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 06-20-2006, 11:54 AM   #7 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default

save up to the price drops this summer and buy your parts, you can build a machine for dirt then.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 06-20-2006, 12:36 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 67
Send a message via AIM to zdude255
Default

Lots of new stuff is coming next year, Conroe, Vista, Direct3D 10 graphics cards.

Save your money for now and probably build a new rig once we've sorted all of those out. That way if you have it in your room, they can still use the old one without bugging you.
zdude255 is offline  
Old 06-20-2006, 12:41 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 49
Default

Something else to think about is that every once in a while you find a pretty good system for sale on here (or similar places) for a good price...I was in a situation similar to yours, saving up toward a $1000, or $1200...or $1500 system (depending on how impatient I got). Then out of the blue I found a real nice deal for $700 that's not exactly what I would have bought, but almost as nice (actually better in some respects) with a few hundred left for whatever I decide to upgrade.

Anyway...I say all that to say, keep saving, keep your options open...if some deal doesn't come along, you just have a bigger stash for a good build.
nsomniac is offline  
Old 06-20-2006, 02:46 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 130
Send a message via AIM to Fuxy_Muxy
Default

thanks guy...well i think im gonna wait...cuz it seems that it would be pointless to upgrade RAM or Video Card cuz then my mobo/cpu would be outta date and i would eventually end up upgrading the whole thing...i guess im gonna save up, see how much i have/work a lot till conroe and dx10 and stuff...if by then i have enough, ill grab a cheap AMD cpu (unless conroes the $#1T ) and a Dx10...if i dont have enough, i guess ill just save some more till the next wave of technology... maybe ill pick up another GB or so...


also, if i put like a different speed 512 stick with my other 2 512 sticks, will it mess things up? im kinda confused about adding different memory...
__________________

__________________
play bf2142?
join Bloody Pandas!
http://com1.runboard.com/bbloodypandas
Fuxy_Muxy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.