GTX280 power question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-09-2009, 03:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Dauntae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,813
Default GTX280 power question

I'm getting ready for an upgrade, and have a buyer for my CPU and GPU. I plan on a Q9550 ( Not a huge upgrade but I multi task a lot and quade would help) and planned on the GTX260-216 but with the prices coming down, I was thinking of the GTX280, I keep reading that it is a power hog and a 650W is barely enough (I know reading the reviews LOL) But I just wanted to make sure, I just got the CorsairTX650W and know I got a good one, but just wanted to confirm what I believe. AMPS not WATTS are important and this has 52A

Thanks
Dauntae
__________________

__________________
New system
NZXT Tempest 410 - I5-4670K - Asus Z87-Plus - SeaSonic SS-750KM3 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular PS
GPU MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB 1600 (2x8gig) - SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250 -Seagate Barracuda 3-TB

Antec 200 - I7-920 - ASUS P6T - Corsair TX650 it's old but still kicking like a mule
2-EVGA GTX 470 in SLI- ocz vertex 3 SSD 128 gig
Seagate Barracuda 1-TB - OCZ DDR3-1600 12 gigs 3x2
Keeps Me Happy :lol:

If I've been helpful, Please rep me
Dauntae is offline  
Old 01-09-2009, 03:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
Inspired by Art
 
tastegw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,400
Default Re: GTX280 power question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dauntae View Post
I'm getting ready for an upgrade, and have a buyer for my CPU and GPU. I plan on a Q9550 ( Not a huge upgrade but I multi task a lot and quade would help) and planned on the GTX260-216 but with the prices coming down, I was thinking of the GTX280, I keep reading that it is a power hog and a 650W is barely enough (I know reading the reviews LOL) But I just wanted to make sure, I just got the CorsairTX650W and know I got a good one, but just wanted to confirm what I believe. AMPS not WATTS are important and this has 52A

Thanks
Dauntae
that psu should be fine, its better than my 700w ocz(i think), and my psu runs the 280 just fine.

Quote:
550W PCI Express-compliant system power supply with a combined 12V current rating of 40A or more*
*Minimum system power requirement based on a PC configured with an Intel Core 2 Extreme QX9650 processor
__________________

__________________
tastegw is offline  
Old 01-09-2009, 03:29 AM   #3 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default Re: GTX280 power question

all the research I've done on my GTX 260 says I need at least 52A on the +12V side myself... I have read that the 280 needs almost 70A... but remember... you not only have to power the card, but everything else as well... so the more amps you can have, the better... (without breaking your bank, of course)
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 01-09-2009, 09:18 AM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: GTX280 power question

The 650tx should be fine.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 01-09-2009, 09:46 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default Re: GTX280 power question

Dauntae, You'll notice a nice increase in the CPU. I went from a E6850 to this Q9650 (just a hair faster than the Q9550) and it was very noticeable. That PSU will work fine for one 280.
__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Old 01-09-2009, 02:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Dauntae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,813
Default Re: GTX280 power question

That's good to hear, Just waiting for taxes and ordering away. This had me worried because I just got the PS and have not even installed it yet then I read the 280 need more LOL Can't wait to get the 280 now, My 9800 GTX+ does plenty well with a little overclock but want to see what GTA4 will look like with the QUAD and 1 gig GPU

Thanks
Dauntae
__________________

__________________
New system
NZXT Tempest 410 - I5-4670K - Asus Z87-Plus - SeaSonic SS-750KM3 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular PS
GPU MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB 1600 (2x8gig) - SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250 -Seagate Barracuda 3-TB

Antec 200 - I7-920 - ASUS P6T - Corsair TX650 it's old but still kicking like a mule
2-EVGA GTX 470 in SLI- ocz vertex 3 SSD 128 gig
Seagate Barracuda 1-TB - OCZ DDR3-1600 12 gigs 3x2
Keeps Me Happy :lol:

If I've been helpful, Please rep me
Dauntae is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old Power supply Guide (2008) Ste New Systems | Building and Buying 223 12-12-2009 09:05 PM
POWER supply question azzyork New Systems | Building and Buying 7 05-15-2008 07:28 PM
question about case power switch and LED connectors schwarg System Upgrades 4 05-14-2008 06:47 PM
Quick power supply question... Drewser System Upgrades 6 10-12-2007 01:31 AM
A question on PSU's and Overclocking Akumajin New Systems | Building and Buying 8 10-08-2007 10:02 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.