GTX 470 Test Results - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-16-2010, 09:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default GTX 470 Test Results

These are by no means professional figures, just some quick tests until i can be bothered to do them all properly. And i have a real issue with beleiving the JC2 Benchmark utility, for nearly the entire benchmark it sticks nearly exactley on 30, whether on 4xAA or 16xAA, and the fps ingame feels quite a bit higher than on the benchmark too. Anyway, here are a few pics.


Lies about my ram, i have 3gb.







Some fluidmark results, i'm actually on Win 7 32bit.




Only tried clocking the GPU quickly, but it doesn't seem to great, atleast on my system. But anyway these were the clocks everything else was benched on




BFBC2 at max




Highest temp after 30minutes of playing JC2 at max settings with 60percent fan speed.




Iphone Decibel App (I heard it's reasonably accurate) at 1meter with fan at 60percent and case on, I could only just hear my PC through the sound of my games at a low/medium volume.




More proper figures to come, such as 3D Mark Vantage, and more games with FPS recorded more 'professionally' if you can call it that. Rest of pc specs are in sig, but here they are anyway:

Q9550@ 3.74ghz
Basic gigabyte mobo (basic enough for me to forget which model..)
3GB DDR2 at ~800mhz
Win 7 32bit Installed on 250GB WD Drive, Games on new 500GB WD Drive
Corsair 650TX

edit:

Random point, Metro 2033 has the best freaking graphics i've ever seen and for 90percent of the time the GTX 470 copes with it at a playable frame rate with DOF and Tessellation on. Some scenes are extremely intensive, so i have to turn them features off for a minute until i get passed though.
__________________

__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 04-16-2010, 09:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,534
Default Re: GTX 470 Test Results

Not bad, JC2 is in DX11, correct?

The numbers do seem surprising, as I got 50+(IIRC) on 1280x720. Then again, it was in DX10, so that could be the issue with yours.
__________________

__________________
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 : AMD FX 9370 : Corsair H100i GTX Cooler : 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600 (4x4Gb) : XFX 7970 Ghz 3GB x 2 : PNY XLR8 256GB SSD : Seagate 1TB : Antec True Power Quattro 1000W : Thermaltake G41
95BlackGA is offline  
Old 04-16-2010, 09:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default Re: GTX 470 Test Results

I think it's only DX10 actually.

And yeh, but you're on my old card where you couldn't enable Hardware water physics, bokeh filter and some other stuff - and they have a decent effect on FPS if i remember. Still it just seems weird how it sticks to 30 almost exactly.

I'll try it with fraps tommorow whilst actually playing, it does seem smoother than 30fps while i'm playing.
__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 04-16-2010, 09:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,534
Default Re: GTX 470 Test Results

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oreo View Post
I think it's only DX10 actually.

And yeh, but you're on my old card where you couldn't enable Hardware water physics, bokeh filter and some other stuff - and they have a decent effect on FPS if i remember. Still it just seems weird how it sticks to 30 almost exactly.

I'll try it with fraps tommorow whilst actually playing, it does seem smoother than 30fps while i'm playing.
Yeah, with everything on high, 4x, and 16x, I'm gettin' 35.54fps. The water, and bokeh would probably be where the hit comes from, as that's about the only thing I can't enable. I know when I get into big cities (like the one where the t.v. station is), I get lagged out pretty good, but still playable none-the-less.

On a side note : How do you like the game? I first bought it, and didn't have an internet connection (ISP hadn't hooked it up yet), and didn't realize it was Steam powered. It's a fun game, but after doing pretty much the same thing to cause chaos, it's getting boring.
__________________
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 : AMD FX 9370 : Corsair H100i GTX Cooler : 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600 (4x4Gb) : XFX 7970 Ghz 3GB x 2 : PNY XLR8 256GB SSD : Seagate 1TB : Antec True Power Quattro 1000W : Thermaltake G41
95BlackGA is offline  
Old 04-17-2010, 09:03 AM   #5 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default Re: GTX 470 Test Results

Quote:
Originally Posted by 95BlackGA View Post
Yeah, with everything on high, 4x, and 16x, I'm gettin' 35.54fps. The water, and bokeh would probably be where the hit comes from, as that's about the only thing I can't enable. I know when I get into big cities (like the one where the t.v. station is), I get lagged out pretty good, but still playable none-the-less.

On a side note : How do you like the game? I first bought it, and didn't have an internet connection (ISP hadn't hooked it up yet), and didn't realize it was Steam powered. It's a fun game, but after doing pretty much the same thing to cause chaos, it's getting boring.

It's an amazing game if you have the BOLOPatch BOLOPatch thread - Facepunch

And another mod on its way..JC2-MP - Just Cause 2 Multiplayer Modification - Facepunch

Slightly more ontopic, i oced my CPU by just 40mhz and it's gone from being stable for weeks on end, to blue-screening overnight, which screwed up my Steam download of Crysis Warhead and 3D Mark Vantage
__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cisco, netapp FCoE design and test results office politics Networking Tips, Tricks & FAQ 0 03-26-2010 04:31 PM
memtest86+ Odd test results Bad ram or slots? Patiszerg Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 11 07-07-2009 10:31 PM
Free Far Cry 2 With GTX 260 & GTX 280? Osiris PC Gaming 1 10-20-2008 06:54 PM
9800 GTX @ The Egg Phoenix219 New Systems | Building and Buying 14 04-01-2008 03:41 PM
WinXP Pro 32bit or 64 bit? ZeeLex Microsoft Windows and Software 6 04-07-2007 03:12 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.