GTX 285's in SLI - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-26-2011, 08:29 AM   #21 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,672
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: GTX 285's in SLI

lol totally forgot about bumping fans up to 100% man I need some sleep
__________________

__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 09-26-2011, 09:50 PM   #22 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 69
Default Re: GTX 285's in SLI

Too early to call it a victory. But i downloaded afterburner, set the fans up at 100% and played crysis 2 for about 30-35 minutes. 3840 X 1024 averaging around 60 fps, had one slowdown to around 6 fps for maybe 2 seconds. I had Hwmonitor running in the background, one card reached 89, the other 74.

Hopefully this solves the problem

Kevin
__________________

kpat99 is offline  
Old 09-26-2011, 11:14 PM   #23 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,321
Default Re: GTX 285's in SLI

The dip could be drivers. Since that seems to have solved your problem then I think it's a safe bet that heat was in fact a problem.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 10-02-2011, 04:14 PM   #24 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 69
Default Re: GTX 285's in SLI

Just wanted to update thnigs in case anybody was reading this in the future. I had posted my computer was drawing 700 watts under full load...but i had 2 of 3 monitors plugged into the powerbar, therefore my psu was only drawing 600, no problem for a 750 psu.

Also, I think part or most of my problems were coming from my RAM timings. I had it set at 7-8-7-20 which my RAM supports, since i've backed it off to 8-8-8-22 i've had absolutely no problems at all.

Maybe someday this more or less useless info will help someone....
kpat99 is offline  
Old 10-02-2011, 08:54 PM   #25 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,672
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: GTX 285's in SLI

Thanks for the update.

Just a note, your PSU doesn't power your monitor. Even the PSU models with a second socket for connecting your monitor to, I think that just extends the power port? Nearly 100% sure, but that's without doing any research.
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 10-02-2011, 09:33 PM   #26 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 69
Default Re: GTX 285's in SLI

I know, thats why i felt like a jackass. I had two monitors plugged into the powerbar, which plugged into the voltage meter. When i was getting readings off 700 watts i was freaked out but now i realize that 100 watts were the monitors which weren't going through the psu at all
kpat99 is offline  
Old 10-02-2011, 09:40 PM   #27 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,672
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: GTX 285's in SLI

Lol ah makes sense
__________________

__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
*SOLD* 2 x EVGA GTX 285's Asylum Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 2 08-10-2010 02:11 AM
recommend psu for 2x gtx 285's tastegw New Systems | Building and Buying 7 01-31-2009 11:50 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.