GTX 285 2 gig VS 1 gig? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-21-2009, 05:36 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: SE Penna.
Posts: 12
Default Re: GTX 285 2 gig VS 1 gig?

I doubt you'll ever see a difference between the 2.
__________________

Wrench is offline  
Old 05-21-2009, 05:44 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: GTX 285 2 gig VS 1 gig?

I think it would be much better on a 30" monitor, lol. :P
__________________

__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 05-21-2009, 06:22 PM   #13 (permalink)
Veteran Techist Member
 
Slam'n Systems's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 828
Default Re: GTX 285 2 gig VS 1 gig?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wrench View Post
I doubt you'll ever see a difference between the 2.
Those 2 Gigs could definitely come in handy in games like GTA IV.

I play on medium settings with my current build, my system isn't good enough to play any better. Pretty crazy if you ask me.
__________________
3DMark FireStrike Ultra: 4,266
3DMark FireStrike: 12,043

  • Intel Core i7 920 Overclocked 3.2Ghz - Megahalem Cooler
  • eVGA E758-A1 X58 Intel LGA 1366 Motherboard
  • Corsair Vengeance 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM
  • MSI Armor OC 8GB GeForce GTX 1070
  • eVGA 650W G2 Modular Power Supply
  • Thermaltake Armor+ Full Tower Case
  • Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD
  • Corsair Force LE 250GB SSD
  • OCZ Vertex 30GB SSD
Slam'n Systems is offline  
Old 05-21-2009, 06:26 PM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: GTX 285 2 gig VS 1 gig?

GTA IV = Crysis? :P
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 05-21-2009, 06:51 PM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: GTX 285 2 gig VS 1 gig?

Quote:
Originally Posted by hikaricloud View Post
GTA IV = Crysis? :P
GTA IV > Crysis in terms of demandingness, and arguably in Gameplay too..

Crysis wins on looks, but GTA IV's engine was worse than Crytek's.. they just did a bad port (sorry Take-Two but that's really what it was)

You need a decent Quad-core and at least an 8800GT 512MB (the 256MB gives you that RAM Overflow issue) to run @ 1280X1024 decently (and its still at 30FPS)
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-21-2009, 07:02 PM   #16 (permalink)
Veteran Techist Member
 
Slam'n Systems's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 828
Default Re: GTX 285 2 gig VS 1 gig?

^^ Yep, it shows I had 1GB of Graphic support and at like 50% of all detail settings it was filled to "Yellow" which meant I was pushing my system. I was like WTF? A very demanding game, but definitely not as pretty as Crysis.
__________________
3DMark FireStrike Ultra: 4,266
3DMark FireStrike: 12,043

  • Intel Core i7 920 Overclocked 3.2Ghz - Megahalem Cooler
  • eVGA E758-A1 X58 Intel LGA 1366 Motherboard
  • Corsair Vengeance 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM
  • MSI Armor OC 8GB GeForce GTX 1070
  • eVGA 650W G2 Modular Power Supply
  • Thermaltake Armor+ Full Tower Case
  • Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD
  • Corsair Force LE 250GB SSD
  • OCZ Vertex 30GB SSD
Slam'n Systems is offline  
Old 05-21-2009, 07:05 PM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: GTX 285 2 gig VS 1 gig?

I can play Crysis at very high detail at 1920x1200. I thought everyone did
Slaymate is offline  
Old 05-21-2009, 07:06 PM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: GTX 285 2 gig VS 1 gig?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
I can play Crysis at very high detail at 1920x1200. I thought everyone did
Lucky..

Now try GTA IV, and you'll probably find yourself playing @ 1680x1050... unless you have a Core i7
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-21-2009, 09:42 PM   #19 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: GTX 285 2 gig VS 1 gig?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
I can play Crysis at very high detail at 1920x1200. I thought everyone did
Sure, everyone. I can totally play Crysis with my onboard 3300. It's awesome.

I've never seen such fast paced gameplay at 1fps...
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 05-21-2009, 09:43 PM   #20 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default Re: GTX 285 2 gig VS 1 gig?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slam'n Systems View Post
More is always better... get (2) 2GB 285 GTX cards. Haha
Its still 2GB... doesnt double your mem in SLI.
__________________

zedman3d is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XFX GeForce GTX 285 Black Edition Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 8 02-15-2009 09:22 PM
Dell 1000w psu and GTX 285 in SLI PH3N0M System Upgrades 6 01-31-2009 09:34 AM
Gtx 285 Dauntae New Systems | Building and Buying 11 01-16-2009 03:05 AM
GTX 285 and GTX 295: Final Specifications maroon1 New Technology and Products 54 12-22-2008 05:24 PM
Leaked GeForce GTX 285 Specs? Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 12-16-2008 11:19 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.