GSATA or SATA? How to hook up my HD to the mobo? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-31-2006, 10:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 168
Default GSATA or SATA? How to hook up my HD to the mobo?

I have this hard drive: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822148144

And this mobo: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128012

I need to know how to hook it up. My mobo has two main different type of connections for HD’s. Here are the two:

SATAII0/1/2/3 (SATA 3Gb/s Connector, Controlled by Intel ICH8)

AND

GSATAII0/1 (SATA 3Gb/s Connector, Controlled by GIGABYTE SATA2)

So what one do I choose to hook the hard drive up to?

Here is a pic of the cable provided with the mobo for the hard drive. It also shows the three pairs of connections for the hard drive. The GSATA is the purple one and the SATA is the yellow one.



Also here is a pic of my hard drive. It has three connections on the back. One is for power the other fits the yellow cable in the above picture. So I assume it goes to the mobo. But there is a third connection. The longer one of the two. What is that for? I do not have any cables that fit it. Do I need it?



Also what’s the difference between SATA 2 and SATA 3? My HD says its SATA 2 but the mobo says it supports up to SATA 3. And what’s the difference between the two jacks I listed above?
__________________

SPL Tech is offline  
Old 08-31-2006, 10:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 230
Default

As long as they plug in, then I would think they'd work, since the mobo says it can handle up to sata3 and your hd is sata2, shouldn't be any problem. As far as differences, I don't honestly know. Oh and the section you boxed in red on the HD is the power connection.
__________________

__________________
C2D E6600 @ 3.15ghz w/ 1.35 vcore
Abit AW9D-MAX
Scythe Infinity
2GB G.Skill DDR2-800 (4-4-4-12)
XFX 7600GT xXx
Silverstone Tj-06
Drizo is offline  
Old 08-31-2006, 11:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

The one in the red box is SATA Power plug.


This is needed.

The One in the BLUE is where the acctual sata cable goes.


The one in the purple, nothing plugs into. You put jumper over certain pins and it can enable A. Master B. slave C. Cable select. Dont worry about this as usually sata does it by it self.
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 08-31-2006, 11:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 36
Send a message via AIM to loosejello
Default

You have the option of using either power connections. DON'T USE BOTH! You will fry it this way.
loosejello is offline  
Old 09-01-2006, 12:39 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 168
Default

Dont use both of what? I looked more carefully and found something out. There are two plugs. Power and data. Thats it. The thire thing is just a jumper. So do I use the GSATA or the SATA port on the mobo?
SPL Tech is offline  
Old 09-01-2006, 12:45 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 168
Default

There are six plugs on the mobo for the HD. What one do I use? They are labeled as follows:

SATAII0
SATAII1
SATAII2
SATAII3
GSATAII0
GSATAII1
SPL Tech is offline  
Old 09-01-2006, 03:44 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 559
Default

Use SATAII0 to plug it into. The GSATA connectors are a secondary chipset that control additional SATA conections. Use the motherboard's chipset connectors first. QED!
__________________
AMD64 X2 4400+
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
2GB Kingston Hyper-X (2-3-2-6)
TT Big Typhoon
eVGA 7900GT KO Superclocked (650/1650)
250GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA2 HDD
Hiper Type-R 580W SLi PSU
19" Sony Trinitron CRT
magouster is offline  
Old 09-01-2006, 03:47 AM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

I have mine plugged into the yellow ones.
__________________

The General is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.