Grrr issues - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-14-2009, 12:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Grrr issues

So my G-skill pi blacks arrived DOA confirmed by memtest(I am never going to buy a computer product with "black" in the name again as my black edition gfx card was also DOA previously) so I am RMAing without issue. At the weekend I kept getting BSODs so I reinstalled vista and took out 2 sticks of ram and its been relatively stable have been a couple of hiccups. Problems started seriously today I put in my new Q9550 and Seagate 7200.12 and it froze whilst I was in the bios setup. It normally freezes at the enter setup splash screen occasionally getting just past there to the part where it searches for hardware and asks me whether to proceed as I have cleared the CMOS and a couple of times I have got into the setup but only for a couple of seconds. I HAVE to get into the bios setup to set dvd drive as boot so that I can install win 7.

I instantly thought memory is dodgy so I have 6 sticks of memory including the g-skills, I was fairly sure the 2 were ok, 2 are iffy and the 2 g-skills didn't pass memtest however I hadn't had a chance to test them individually only as a pair so one may work and be bringing the other down. I have tried every stick in as a single stick with no successful access to the bios. Is it the cpu not seated on the heatsink possibly can't see how I could of done that but for me it seems the next step. The cpu appears centred and I added my normal amount of arctic silver 5, its a thermaltake ultra 120 extreme so hardly inadequate.

Ideas?
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 05-14-2009, 01:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Asylum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 138
Default Re: Grrr issues

Thats pretty strange that you cant even get into bios!!
I know you said you reset the CMOS but did you disconnect the power cable and then take out the battery. Press the power on button to disapate all electricity and let sit 5 minutes then replace battery and power cable and see what you have!!
Only other thing you can do is check to make sure the jumper is in the correct position!!
__________________

__________________
Processor: Core i7 920 4.2Ghz 24/7
Motherboard: EVGA X58 758 SLI
Cooling: Water cooling
Memory: 2x3Gig Kingston Hyper X 2100Mhz
Video Card: XFX GTX285
Harddisk: 2-Seagate Barracuda 250GB in RAID 0
Case: APEVIA X-JUPITER G-Type X
PSU: Corsair 1000 Watt Modular
Asylum is offline  
Old 05-14-2009, 02:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Grrr issues

My motherboard is the asus striker 2 formula there is a convenient button which clears the cmos completely as its a designed for benchmarking and extreme overclocking, It also has a power on and reset switch on board which is convenient when testing a new build.
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 05-14-2009, 02:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default Re: Grrr issues

Even with a "reset" you should try what Asylum suggested though. That will leave no doubt that the CMOS is cleared.

I had similar issues and it turned out I had a little loose screw that was contacting my mobo and shorting it out. I found this out only after removing everything one at a time. It was excruciating! Anyway, try that too.

Lastly, make sure you don't have any weird USB devices hooked up. You might be getting some weird interference with a card reader or something if you have one.
__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Old 05-14-2009, 02:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Grrr issues

It comes up after the boot splash screen (whenever I get that far) "cmos cleared loading default settings press F1 to continue press del to enter setup"

I doubt its a loose screw as I haven't add anything all I have done is taken off cpu heatsink, cleaned it, taken out cpu, thermal pasted, replaced heatsink using same screws, slotted the hdd into the drive rails and moved a power cable to power it.

Only devices connected are the basics; monitor, power, keyboard and mouse nothing else is in the back I had the same thought .
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 05-14-2009, 03:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default Re: Grrr issues

I dunno then....that's weird that you can't get into the BIOS really.

I doesn't have to be a loose screw necessarily, but can be anything that may be grounding out your mobo.

You tried the memory one at a time, but did you try them one at a time in each slot? When I was having that grounding issue that was a suggestion EVGA tech support made (before I knew it was a grounding issue).
__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Old 05-14-2009, 03:36 PM   #7 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Grrr issues

touch wood its fixed itself magically......... just managed to get into bios and now loading up windows installler. Problem now is I won't know if its stopped working or if the installer is just being slow....
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 05-14-2009, 04:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Grrr issues

Nope freak luck that it worked. I think it might be because I tightened the cpu heatsink too much just loosened it up and looking good . Nope no good. Great looks like I will be doing a complete rebuild tomorrow atleast it gives me a chance to work on my cable management.
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 05-14-2009, 09:06 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Grrr issues

you couls just run it out of the case, just to be sure that there is no shorts any where. like put it on a wood table or something.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 05-15-2009, 05:33 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: Grrr issues

the only thing i would suggest is like others mentioned, rebuild making sure everything is fine as you build. good luck going to take awhile.
__________________

__________________
3D MARK 06 ***14,063*** on vista, use to get it
p4 2.8ghz
Asus p4SD-LA
6800gs ultra
1.5gb ddr400 oem
120gb hdd

The Techies' Bible
kobe24 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PS3 2.42 Firmware Issues? Osiris Sony Playstation 4 08-04-2008 03:15 PM
Issues issues issues. Vista-64bit. 9600GT's in SLI. 4GB Vista problems. Oy Vey. TheOtis Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 03-24-2008 12:59 PM
Memory issues Eternal46845 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 02-12-2008 08:37 AM
Gigafast Router - Connectivity Issues When Running Torrents - Advanced Problem throthedice Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 1 09-27-2007 10:12 PM
Brand NEW Computer Issues...IDK what to do? roadrunner1659 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 08-17-2007 09:07 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.