Graphics Card Won't Fit! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-10-2009, 07:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22
Default Graphics Card Won't Fit!

Ok, so I have this graphics card I'm putting in my PC, And It won't fit into the slot. It's a Ge Force 260 and it is supposed to go into the pci-x16 slot, and it looks something like this.
-------- ---- Roughly anyways :P. So, I can get the larger half of that into the slot, but the small little bit will not go in all the way. Should I not worry about it? Or should it completely fit in 100%? because it doesnt. Help lol!
__________________

KingbobertVII is offline  
Old 06-10-2009, 07:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default Re: Graphics Card Won't Fit!

What's the make and model of your motherboard?
__________________

jfenwick is offline  
Old 06-10-2009, 07:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22
Default Re: Graphics Card Won't Fit!

Newegg.com - ASUS P5Q3 LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards
KingbobertVII is offline  
Old 06-10-2009, 08:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Graphics Card Won't Fit!

Could be the lock... Play with the lock a few times as it should slip all the way in... also try going back first.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 06-10-2009, 08:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22
Default Re: Graphics Card Won't Fit!

the lock as in the little blue lever? I'll try that.
KingbobertVII is offline  
Old 06-10-2009, 08:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Graphics Card Won't Fit!

is it conflicting with the HDD cage or a cable blocking it?

pics would be greately apprecieated
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 06-10-2009, 08:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: Graphics Card Won't Fit!

Whatever you do, do not cut it video card in an attempt to get it to fit!!!!! It did not work for the last person here that tried to do that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by KingbobertVII View Post
the lock as in the little blue lever? I'll try that.
Yes.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 06-10-2009, 08:29 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Graphics Card Won't Fit!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Keyboard Cowboy View Post
Whatever you do, do not cut it video card in an attempt to get it to fit!!!!! It did not work for the last person here that tried to do that.



Yes.
LMAO, i was just about to edit my post to say that too

you beat me to it.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 06-10-2009, 08:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Graphics Card Won't Fit!

Sometimes you just have to wiggle the card a little to get it to line up just right. And you want the whole card to slide in at once. You can't get one end 1st and then the other, you'll only damage the card or the slot. Sometimes you have to put a little pressure on the case (not the card) were the card touches the case.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 06-10-2009, 08:32 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Graphics Card Won't Fit!

try putting it in from the back first (where the lever is) and slide it in like slaymate said, all at once.
__________________

__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Graphics Card Issues HobbesUK Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 02-27-2009 09:49 PM
graphics card issues LostAcres Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 11-27-2008 09:45 PM
Dedicated power supply for a graphics card? wencke530 System Upgrades 13 02-23-2008 07:27 PM
New graphics card not working Richard Laymon Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 10-21-2007 11:01 PM
Graphics card fan iviv Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 03-31-2007 06:52 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.