Graphics card upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-12-2010, 09:43 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 69
Default Graphics card upgrade

I bought a ATI radeon hd 2900 xt for £40 to replace my 2600 xt. It doesn't come with any power adapters or whatever they are (don't really know what i'm on about.) I think it is a 6 pin and an 8 pin pci-e adapter?? Does anyone know where I can get these cheap in the UK and how much they would cost.
Links to websites would be much appreciated.
I can also post links of the adapters and the PC if needed.
Cheers, James
__________________

webby93 is offline  
Old 12-12-2010, 10:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Graphics card upgrade

Here: OcUK Value PCI Express 6-Pin to 4-Pin Power Adaptor for PCI-E Graphics Cards (RB-527) [RB-527]
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 12-12-2010, 10:37 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 69
Default Re: Graphics card upgrade

Just checking Will it work for this? And where will it plug in from the graphics card?

webby93 is offline  
Old 12-12-2010, 10:53 AM   #4 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Graphics card upgrade

Oh oh, you have an even bigger issue..... You need both a 6 and an 8 pin. Can you link your card, and your psu.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 12-12-2010, 11:09 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 69
Default Re: Graphics card upgrade

I probably can, but I dunno what I would need to do that. And sorry for not being so clear before... :S I have this psu Thermaltake ToughPower W0131RB - 850W PSU £122.02 :: www.svp.co.uk with the bottom left black and the 2 red sockets with nothing plugged into them.

Cheers again, James
webby93 is offline  
Old 12-12-2010, 11:40 AM   #6 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: Graphics card upgrade

it looks like your psu has enough 6 pin connections, no 8 pins though.

use a 6 pin directly from the psu, and get this adapter
NZXT 6 PIN to 8 PIN VGA PCI-Express Extention 250mm CB-8V | Ebuyer.com
to turn another 6 pin into an 8 pin, and you'll be good to go.
__________________
Muffin Man is offline  
Old 12-12-2010, 12:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Graphics card upgrade

Cool, your psu can power it just fine.

According to ATI, you can run it with 2 6 pins, but need 6 and 8 pins for max performance they say.

Quote:
Connection to 550 Watt (750 for CrossFire™) or greater power supply with two 2x3-pin PCIe® power connectors is required.
For enhanced performance with ATI Overdrive™, a power supply with one 2x3-pin and one 2x4-pin PCIe® power connector is required
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 12-12-2010, 12:36 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 69
Default Re: Graphics card upgrade

Thanks for all your help guys... I'm going to see if they have any in my local computer shop and hopefully they won't cost me a bomb lol. And also I'm not too sure if 250mm will be long enough :s I'll have a check when I turn the computer off.

Cheers, James
webby93 is offline  
Old 12-12-2010, 12:39 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 69
Default Re: Graphics card upgrade

Oh, and would this do the same job? Dual Molex 4 pin to dual 6 pin or 8 pin PCIe cable on eBay (end time 24-Dec-10 16:32:52 GMT)
And maybe one of these from the same guy just incase it isn't long enough? 12" PCI-Express 6-Pin (PCI-E) Power Extension Cable on eBay (end time 04-Jan-11 18:04:36 GMT)

Thanks again, James
webby93 is offline  
Old 12-12-2010, 02:35 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 69
Default Re: Graphics card upgrade

BUMPY BUMPY I would like someone to tell me if it would work as I would like to order the parts I need ASAP.

Thanks, James
__________________

webby93 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Graphics card upgrade Runfox System Upgrades 8 11-29-2009 09:23 PM
PSU upgrade and Graphics Card k177sh0t System Upgrades 5 11-28-2009 10:32 PM
fed up of loud Graphics Card! :@ upgrade pci-e with silent card pintobeef System Upgrades 5 07-27-2007 02:02 PM
Graphics Card Upgrade goldenballs11 System Upgrades 3 11-13-2005 09:47 AM
Looking to upgrade graphics card kobbie Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 9 06-13-2005 03:01 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.