Graphics Card Tv Out - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-26-2006, 04:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 67
Default Graphics Card Tv Out

I'm just curious, I've been out of the market for a while, I had a Radeon 9800se in my old computer, but now I have a new one, and its PCI-Express.

I'm not HUGE into gaming, although with a decent card I may do a bit of it. I now have a Geforce 6150 LE and I ran 3DMark03 and realized my old system dominated my new on the graphics department. Like I said I'm not huge into gaming so I don't want to spend too much, but I was wondering what some recomendations would be to at least match my old system.

I saw some Geforces at the store that had what I believe were TV Tuners in them. I do not have a Tv in my room, so I'd be interested in that. My computer came with Windows XP Media, and so I believe there is software on here for watching Tv if only I had a card that could do it. Any recommendations would be good. Thanks

PS -
Old System:
My old system was
Athlon XP 2400+
512 Ram
Radeon 9800SE

New System:
Athlon 64 X2 3800
Geforce 6150 LE

Griggs2121 is offline  
Old 09-26-2006, 09:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
j12's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,133

i think that the geforce 6150le is onboard video right? and how much are u willing to spend on the videocard? just get a geforce 6600 or 6800 for ok gaming. if you want to step it up a notch then get the 7600gs for around 100$, i reccomend the 7600gs. yout title says tv out, almost all new videocards, whether high end or not, have tv out. but the only videocards that i recall that have built in tv tuners are the ati all in wonders. get a 7600gs and get a pci tv tuner for around 50 or less.


MacBook 2.2GHz Santa Rosa | 120GB HDD | 4GB ram
Intel C2D E6300 @ 3.2GHz | 4GB ram | 880GB total HDD space | Gigabyte P965-DS3 | eVGA 8800GTS 640mb | Corsair HX 520 | Audigy 2 ZS platnium | Antec 900
j12 is offline  
Old 09-27-2006, 06:34 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 67

oh ok, I might have confused the terms. I thought these nvidia cards I saw at the store had actual tv tuners in them.
Griggs2121 is offline  
Old 09-28-2006, 06:06 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 67

got any ideas what my system should do on the 3DMark03 or 05 with any of the mentioned graphics cards.

I'm only getting about 1164 right now on 3DMark 03
Griggs2121 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:30 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.