Graphics card Rankings - Page 94 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-13-2009, 12:32 AM   #931 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default Re: Graphics card Rankings

Quote:
Originally Posted by zmatt View Post
really?
Newegg.com - ePOWER EP-2000P10-T3 2000W ATX12V Ver.2.2 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready Modular Active PFC Power Supply - Power Supplies

Newegg has 2 pages worth of power supplies that have a higher than 1k watt output.
Bam. Hit him again.
__________________

zedman3d is offline  
Old 01-13-2009, 12:56 AM   #932 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: Graphics card Rankings

I have had multiple machines daisy chained on a power strip that is plugged into one outlet before at a lan party and never had trouble. I have easily passed the 1000watt mark. the only load trouble I have ever had was in older buildings.
__________________

__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 01-13-2009, 01:35 AM   #933 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Graphics card Rankings

please....just stop.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 01-13-2009, 03:19 AM   #934 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Re: Graphics card Rankings

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1337_JohnN View Post
Houses are getting pretty old, you know. And lan parties are at commercial buildings, which aren't your regular house plug in. Even Nos told me this, ffs. We decided that 2k PSU would need two outlets in a house, and most people with 2k watts are engineers at commercial buildings.

You know they do build new houses. You can have a Lan Party at a house. A standard power outlet should give right around the same power at a commercial building as it would at a house. There are different kinds of outlets but they will normally have a different shape for the connection and you can have them at a house or commercial building but they should still be basically the same for the output (look at a fridge, its probably not using the same plug as your computer). And yeah that 2k psu posted earlier had 2 spots for a power cord.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
"Now I lay my computer down to sleep, I pray the hard drive my files to keep, If I should lose power before I save, I pray the hard drive my backups to take"
The Techies' Bible - Dario 1:1
dario03 is offline  
Old 01-13-2009, 03:27 AM   #935 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default Re: Graphics card Rankings

This is a **** load of fail.
zedman3d is offline  
Old 01-13-2009, 03:30 AM   #936 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: Graphics card Rankings

Quote:
Originally Posted by dario03 View Post
You know they do build new houses. You can have a Lan Party at a house. A standard power outlet should give right around the same power at a commercial building as it would at a house. There are different kinds of outlets but they will normally have a different shape for the connection and you can have them at a house or commercial building but they should still be basically the same for the output (look at a fridge, its probably not using the same plug as your computer). And yeah that 2k psu posted earlier had 2 spots for a power cord.
i use all my outlets in my room lol.

how many watts equals 1 volt btw?
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 01-13-2009, 03:35 AM   #937 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
stalin90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: Graphics card Rankings

watts = voltage x amps

1v x 1 amp = 1 watt

.5v x 2 amp = 1 watt

1v x 2 amp = 2 watt

isnt a way to figure out voltage with just wattage. u need to know the amperage along with it.
__________________

- INTEL Q6700 @ 3.2 - ASUS P5Q Pro - EVGA 9800GTX - 4GB Patriot Viper @ 1066 -
stalin90 is offline  
Old 01-13-2009, 05:03 AM   #938 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Graphics card Rankings

the standard plugs here are fused to 13amp....that's almost 3000 watts. Not sure what the fuses in the tripboxes are but I'm pretty sure they are well over that.

Besides, it's like the puter is going to be at maximum GPU and CPU load all the time.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 01-13-2009, 06:23 AM   #939 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Graphics card Rankings

Lol I am an elcetricity fiend I have everything plugged into a powers strip and power cube there are 8 plugs running under my desk with 3 more available, which two of use to power my tri monitor setup and occasionally charge my laptop. My house is 1730's and we still have plug sockets around that work and are 2 pin lol bloody ancient by Uk standards. The wiring was last done in the 70's so its fairly old.
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 01-13-2009, 06:45 AM   #940 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Graphics card Rankings

seriously, 1000W is not a problem, most vacuum cleaners are 1000-1500W
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.