Graphic Card Question... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-05-2009, 08:39 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 27
Default Graphic Card Question...

I am looking into updating my existing 9600GT card for something far better & was looking at the xfx HD 4870 cards. I have found two im interested in but dont know which one is better & why.

XFX HD 4870 512MB GDDR5 Dual DVI HDTV Out PCI-E Graphics Card
& the
XFX HD 4870 1GB GDDR5 Dual DVI HDTV Out PCI-E Graphics Card

The only difference is size of memory & im not sure which is better to buy as the price difference is nearly 30. Any help would be fantastic.

Thanks
__________________

VsUK81 is offline  
Old 10-05-2009, 08:49 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Graphic Card Question...

The 1gb card would be great if you game at higher resolutions. 1920 (1600) x 1200 and above. If you play at lower resolutions you could save the money with the cheaper card.

so for 1650 (1280) x 1024 and below get the 512mb card.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 10-05-2009, 08:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Graphic Card Question...

Welcome to Tech Forums, VsUK!

The 1GB would be better for games with lots of textures, and if you're playing at a high resolution, such as 1920 x 1200.

If those meet your gaming needs, and you have the extra 30 pounds, I'd say why not, go for it.

Make sure your power supply is adequate. A 500W PSU is required.

**edit**
hefe beat me to it
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-05-2009, 08:53 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Graphic Card Question...

Wonder twin power: Activate.

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 10-05-2009, 09:36 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 27
Default Re: Graphic Card Question...

Hi, thanks for quick reply guys. Well the max res my TFT mon goes is 1280x1024 & any higher it looks like its had a stroke :P

So i presume the 512mb card would suit me fine? As i purchased the GTA IV & it really made my existing card go into a coma & when i attempted to notch up the draw distance, it goes up to 100 but max the card would accept was 16 utilizing 256MB memory the card has. Im not to much fussed on quality & mainly into speed, however if i can have the details on medium for a change in staid of low would be nice

Also, i have a 600W PSU.
VsUK81 is offline  
Old 10-05-2009, 09:54 AM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Graphic Card Question...

Yep. The 512 is a perfect fit.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 10-05-2009, 02:07 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Re: Graphic Card Question...

Doesn't GTA4 require a lot of video card memory? I was under the impression that it did so 1GB might be a good idea, but I'm not sure.

And what kind of cpu did you have? Because I do know that GTA4 is very cpu intensive.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
"Now I lay my computer down to sleep, I pray the hard drive my files to keep, If I should lose power before I save, I pray the hard drive my backups to take"
The Techies' Bible - Dario 1:1
dario03 is offline  
Old 10-05-2009, 06:19 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Graphic Card Question...

Quote:
Originally Posted by dario03 View Post
Doesn't GTA4 require a lot of video card memory? I was under the impression that it did so 1GB might be a good idea, but I'm not sure.

And what kind of cpu did you have? Because I do know that GTA4 is very cpu intensive.
Not really.

The game assumes it will hog up your memory and then caps you based on it, so you can just remove the block and then it should play fine @ 1280X1024.
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 10-05-2009, 06:41 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dirkpitt45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 755
Default Re: Graphic Card Question...

I've found that I get about 1-2fps or its the same depending on the game with my 1gb 4850 compared to a friend's 512mb. That could also be anything with that small of a difference, I went with the 1gb just cause it was the same price as the 512mb at the time, so might as well.
dirkpitt45 is offline  
Old 10-05-2009, 07:53 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 27
Default Re: Graphic Card Question...

its just a Athlon 3.2 x2 cpu, but all the other games ive played including farcry 2 did pretty well on a single 9600GT on low quality but it just had a real fart at me when i attempted GTA4 :P.

I am thinking of going for the 1GB card as if prices drop as im sure they will over the months to come, might get another & fire them up together.

I only buy if & when i need to, im not one to go out & buy it just because its new & better if you get me
__________________

VsUK81 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video Card question - I hate to be one of these people Princepapa System Upgrades 3 01-12-2009 10:06 AM
graphics card question xrev87x System Upgrades 15 01-01-2009 12:59 PM
graphic card and power supply upgrade question cscaffidi System Upgrades 5 03-25-2008 08:45 PM
Question about OCing a Video Card mgcook New Systems | Building and Buying 5 08-11-2007 02:29 AM
DirectX and Graphic Card Question MonkeyBusiness New Systems | Building and Buying 3 08-10-2007 05:49 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.