Grabbing a new system - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-06-2006, 08:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 162
Send a message via AIM to theshonen8899
Default Grabbing a new system

Thinking about getting a new system. So far I got this in mind:

A8N32-SLI Deluxe

AMD Opteron 150

CORSAIR XMS TWINX2048-3500LLPRO

VANTEC STG-100 All-in-one Water Cooling Kit

XFX Geforce 7800GT

OCZ 600W Psu

Major thing I'm concerned about is wheather I should go duel core or not. I like the single core because I heard should be faster than duel and duel wasn't nessassary for gaming. I just want to make sure this is a good setup before I buy it so feel free to give me any tips or opinions you guys have.
__________________

__________________
Case: Thermaltech Tsunami
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 Processor 2800+
Mobo: DFI LanParty UT nf3 250gb
Memory: 1 gb G.Skill PC3200
HD: 74gb WD Raptor/120gb WD Caviar/500gb WD Caviar
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce 6800 GS/XT
theshonen8899 is offline  
Old 02-06-2006, 09:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default Re: Grabbing a new system

Quote:
Originally posted by theshonen8899

A8N32-SLI Deluxe

AMD Opteron 150

CORSAIR XMS TWINX2048-3500LLPRO
Well, i've bought all three of these same components. Also a Zalman 9500LED. Right now they are all sitting in a box in my hall closet.

I have everything else:

The only thing I'm waiting on is the G71's that will be out in March.
I'll buy (1) 7900GTX. Also, rumor has it that the Physix cards could be out in march also.

My thought is this. Single core Opteron 150 - can easily OC to 2.8Ghz on air. Throw in the new 7900GTX + hook up with the new physix card. There won't be any need for dual core cpu's. "For gaming PC's" The PPU will be taking a huge load off the CPU anyway.

Oh, by the way. This PC i'm building is GAMING ONLY.
OS, Drivers, Games, Benchmark Utilites. (Nothing Else!)
__________________

HAVOC is offline  
Old 02-06-2006, 09:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 280
Default

I wish the 7900 GTX supported DX10 instead of the g80 being the first one in like june...Cuase Il be so temted to buy it and Il regret it when the g80 comes out..
__________________
I wish I had my Computer...:(
Unknown Envy is offline  
Old 02-06-2006, 09:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

DX10 is coming with Vista. As of all of the things that I've read about Vista, it's going to require a whole new PC. I read today that Microsoft is recommending ECC memory for Vista.

I'll give Vista about 1 to 2 years of being full out tested and reworked with patches before I start think about it.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 02-07-2006, 12:41 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 162
Send a message via AIM to theshonen8899
Default

Jesus that Zalman thing is huge. It looks nice but this time I wanna try liquid coolig. The Vantec comes with heatsinks for cpu, graphics card and the chipsets so I like it, especially because I heard so much about how hot the chipsets get on the asus. That PhisX card looks nice though. I'll try to get that as well.
__________________
Case: Thermaltech Tsunami
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 Processor 2800+
Mobo: DFI LanParty UT nf3 250gb
Memory: 1 gb G.Skill PC3200
HD: 74gb WD Raptor/120gb WD Caviar/500gb WD Caviar
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce 6800 GS/XT
theshonen8899 is offline  
Old 02-07-2006, 01:10 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

It's actually not that big. It rests in the palm of my hand nicely.
Imagine (2) Zalman 7000's Bottom to Bottom with a fan only on one of them. With a 1.5" base.

Liquid cooling is cool I guess. I tend to think it's a pain in the butt. but to each his own.

If you need advice on liquid cooling, "NUBIUS" is your man. He's very knowledgible in that sector.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 02-07-2006, 01:18 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 162
Send a message via AIM to theshonen8899
Default

I'd kinda hate to see the green thing outside my computer though. If I don't go liquid cooling, what kind of heatsinks would you suggest for the cpu and chipsets?
__________________
Case: Thermaltech Tsunami
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 Processor 2800+
Mobo: DFI LanParty UT nf3 250gb
Memory: 1 gb G.Skill PC3200
HD: 74gb WD Raptor/120gb WD Caviar/500gb WD Caviar
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce 6800 GS/XT
theshonen8899 is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 03:21 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 162
Send a message via AIM to theshonen8899
Default

Ok guys, made some changes. Hope you guys can help out more cause I'm nearing the time to buy this ><

A8N32-SLI Deluxe
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131568

AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103562

CORSAIR XMS TWINX2048-3500LLPRO
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145594

ZALMAN CNPS9500 LED
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835118223

eVGA Geforce 6800GS
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130267

ENERMAX Liberty ELT500AWT 500W Power Supply
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817194003

It seems afterall I chose the duel core. I just love the idea of extreme multitasking. I plan on getting the phisX and g80 cards later on. I also want to know if I should sli the 6800GS and g80 for duel 17" monitors since I REALLY don't want to pay so much for another 20"+ monitor.

I've heard the Antec NeoPower doesn't work well with ASUS boards. Hope someone can tell me if that would work with this board because I think it looks sexier than the Energymax. :P
__________________
Case: Thermaltech Tsunami
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 Processor 2800+
Mobo: DFI LanParty UT nf3 250gb
Memory: 1 gb G.Skill PC3200
HD: 74gb WD Raptor/120gb WD Caviar/500gb WD Caviar
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce 6800 GS/XT
theshonen8899 is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 03:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 406
Default

^why don't you get a opteron 165 instead it OC's much better
__________________
AMD 3200
2x512 coasair valueselect
eVGA 6800gs
MSI Neo4-f
Anec true power 480 watts

-92% of teens have moved on to rap. If you are part of the 8% who still listen to real music, copy this.
SomeIranianKid is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 11:51 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 162
Send a message via AIM to theshonen8899
Default

I'm not very experienced at OCing. I've tried OCing with my Gigabyte board but...not very good. Btw, are Athlon 64 2800+ cpus top locked? I can't get its multiplier past 9 and when I oc the front bus it crashes a lot.
__________________

__________________
Case: Thermaltech Tsunami
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 Processor 2800+
Mobo: DFI LanParty UT nf3 250gb
Memory: 1 gb G.Skill PC3200
HD: 74gb WD Raptor/120gb WD Caviar/500gb WD Caviar
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce 6800 GS/XT
theshonen8899 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.