GPU upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-24-2005, 10:37 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 65
Default GPU upgrade

Hello all,

I have a fairly old system that I built about 2-3 years ago.

Now I am no longer sure about the specifics of what i have got but your advice would be great anyway.

Having benchmarked the system on 3dmark2005 I am scoring about 1650

i am playing games like F.E.A.R and battlefield 2 and its grinding to say the least.

I am on a real budget here so I can afford right now to upgrade the whole system which is what I really want to do.

Firstly, if you have any suggestions on how I can find out what components I actually have on a detailed basis then please let me know.

I have a P4 2.8 ghz which I brought from a cheap system through PC world in the UK, I dropped the rest of this system but ekpt the CPU thinking it was a good chip, I have a funny feeling the chip has a core speed of 400mhz?

I have 1 gig of RAm that I brought from ebuyer.com years ago which I think is either DDR 333 or 266.

The mother board is an ASUS ATX board with an AGP 8X GPU socket.

Its running 1 80 gig IDE HD at the moment.

The GPU at the moment is an ATI 9600 128 meg

now I am thinking that I could rip out the ATI 9600 and buy a Nvidia 6800 GT card and over clock that, but would this be the most cost effective way of upgrading this computer?
__________________

leeslangley is offline  
Old 10-24-2005, 10:59 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

mmk.. well it depends on how much your willing to spend.
Everyone's going to be saying either 6600,6600GT,6800, or 6800GT.

I think you would be happy with a 6600GT (eVGA) they come in AGP too . Cost about $150.00, maybe 160 with S&H.
Plus it will blow your ATI out of the water
__________________

Static_11 is offline  
Old 10-24-2005, 11:54 AM   #3 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default

i agree. the 6600gt is a good budget card, and if you overclock it, ic can get right up there with the 6800gt
jseber1982 is offline  
Old 10-24-2005, 01:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

dont think hell be oc'ing
Static_11 is offline  
Old 10-24-2005, 01:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by leeslangley
Firstly, if you have any suggestions on how I can find out what components I actually have on a detailed basis then please let me know.
download everest to find information concerning your computers innerds...

http://www.lavalys.com/products.php?lang=en

it will tell you anything you need to know
Juice Daddy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.