GPU temps... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-09-2008, 09:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 113
Default GPU temps...

amd x2 5200+, radeon 3850 512mb, 500gb seagate, 2gb ram, msi k9a2 mobo, coolermaster 690 case

ati catalyst installed, rivatuner installed

what should be my typical CPU temps? I have around 30-35 C for idle and when I play CoD4, around 68-72 C with the fan set at 50% duty using riva.

Is that ok?
__________________

undefined is offline  
Old 01-09-2008, 09:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: CPU temps...

68-72C is a bit too high for load. Are you talking about the GPU or CPU?...because you mentioned setting Riva at 50%. I assume that's controlling the GPU's fan. If that's the GPU you're talking about, it's ok. But you should add in a case fan or something to help with. Now if that's the CPU, make sure you installed that heatsink correctly. Or get an aftermarket to help with the cooling.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-09-2008, 09:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 113
Default Re: CPU temps...

Actually those are both for GPU. I'm getting these readings off of Riva Tuner.
undefined is offline  
Old 01-09-2008, 09:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: CPU temps...

Oh ok...because the thread title said CPU. I'll change it.

That seems normal to me. Actually I kinda expected lower, with the HD3850 having a 55nm process.

You may want to get a another side intake, to help with the cooling a bit.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-09-2008, 09:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 113
Default Re: GPU temps...

Ok just installed CPUID Hardware Monitor:

GPU is at 40C under no load. Just Firefox/Pidgin.

CPU is at core 0, 17C, and core1 at 18C.

HD is at 27C.

*edit* I have three case fans, 120mm from the CM690 case and a CPU fan/heatsink (came with the proc) and a GPU fan.
undefined is offline  
Old 01-09-2008, 10:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: GPU temps...

I know you're sorry.

All the temperatures are fine. The GPU may be a bit warm on load. So if you want, stick another side intake to help with the GPU.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-09-2008, 10:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 113
Default Re: GPU temps...

whats a side intake?
undefined is offline  
Old 01-09-2008, 10:29 PM   #8 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: GPU temps...

Oh, I meant a case fan for the side panel as an intake, so it can take in cool air for the graphic card.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-09-2008, 10:36 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 113
Default Re: GPU temps...

It has one. One on the side, back fan, and HD fan in the front.
undefined is offline  
Old 01-09-2008, 10:41 PM   #10 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: GPU temps...

And the GPU still loads around 68-72C? Your ambient must be a little warm.

Another thing to do, is setting the fan at 100% via Riva. That should help bring it down a little.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need something that monitors CPU and GPU temps. Disillusion New Systems | Building and Buying 4 12-05-2007 05:52 AM
A Couple GPU Overclocking Questions Poemaster Overclocking and Modding 3 10-31-2007 05:17 AM
Everest wont show GPU temps in Vista? jonny_uk Microsoft Windows and Software 10 10-27-2007 11:05 PM
Vista Program that will let me see my GPU temps? Alexinator Microsoft Windows and Software 5 10-10-2007 03:07 PM
GPU temps cloud System Upgrades 6 09-20-2007 01:32 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.