GPU needs and such - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-06-2009, 02:55 PM   #11 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: GPU needs and such

multicard is a bit more complicated than that, for sli you need two of the same cards. For crossfire you should be good with any card from a given family. Like any HD 4000 series should work.
__________________

__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 04-06-2009, 05:04 PM   #12 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: GPU needs and such

Quote:
Originally Posted by zmatt View Post
multicard is a bit more complicated than that, for sli you need two of the same cards. For crossfire you should be good with any card from a given family. Like any HD 4000 series should work.
But they don't want XFire or SLI, they want tri-monitors, hence 2 cards needed.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 04-06-2009, 05:07 PM   #13 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: GPU needs and such

I didn't think you could run multiple card without crossfire or sli. Do the drivers support that?
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 04-06-2009, 05:52 PM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: GPU needs and such

I know the new nVidia drivers support 3 or more monitors with SLI. But I still say the 4850 x2 is the best bet, since it's a pretty beastly gaming card on top of having 4 DVI ports...

Pretty sure it would cost less.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 04-06-2009, 06:03 PM   #15 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: GPU needs and such

I think in this case the 4850x2 is a good bet. If you don't need 3 monitors in the end then look at the 4890. Otherwise stick with the x2.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 04-06-2009, 06:06 PM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: GPU needs and such

Right, if it was just a dual monitor setup, the 4890 would be good.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 04-06-2009, 06:38 PM   #17 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: GPU needs and such

Quote:
Originally Posted by zmatt View Post
I didn't think you could run multiple card without crossfire or sli. Do the drivers support that?
Nvidia just started the multi-monitorsin SLI. Any 2 card can be used un-SLI for multis


Wow... Never knew of the 4850x2... always thought it was only 4870x2....

Totally agree with best tri-setup for decent price.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 04-06-2009, 08:04 PM   #18 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: GPU needs and such

Quote:
Originally Posted by zmatt View Post
I didn't think you could run multiple card without crossfire or sli. Do the drivers support that?
yep that is possible, i do it with my GTX 260 for my main 20" LCD and i have a 8500GT for a physx card that is also running a 17" CRT that i use to display temps and stuff while gaming
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 04-06-2009, 11:48 PM   #19 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default Re: GPU needs and such

SLI can do multiple monitors now. The "Big Bang 2" drivers brought it in.

As for multiple cards outside of SLI or Xfire, yes it will work. Some have even used different company's cards (ATI and Nvidia) to run multiple monitors.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 04-13-2009, 05:38 AM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 555
Default Re: GPU needs and such

Hmmmm

Well my budget is up in the air. I can wait for prices to go down if I need to, or income to go up.


I believe I have gone against Tri-monitoring. 1 is just "barely not enough" to do what I need to, since some things take full screen and I Alt-Tab into the other stuff.... so a second moni should work fine.


the 4870 I want is like .. $240... and the same brand 4890 is like $250... lol... I'd be stupid not to go with the 4890 for that price difference, wouldn't I? (XFX brands)

My HAF 932.. yet to be ordered.. lots of back order and bull from companies... I need a new dealer


My 6 Gigs of ram- I bought months ago when I got my i7, motherboard, PSU and such, I believe it was $75 after mail in rebate or something... it was some crazy cheap deal for 6 gigs of DDR3, so I jumped on it.
__________________

Gothch1ck is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.