GPU needs and such - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-05-2009, 06:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 555
Default GPU needs and such

I have this monitor: Newegg.com - ASUS VH226H Black 21.5" 2ms(GTG) HDMI Widescreen 16:9 Full HD 1080P LCD Monitor 300 cd/m2 1000:1 (ASCR 12000 : 1) Built in Speakers - LCD Monitors

And it is great and all, but for graphic editing and such, a second, or possibly even a third would be ideal.


So I plan to move to a 3 monitor system, 2 of the one I have, and one bigger one in the middle (unless this is not a great idea to have different sized LCDs)


For Gaming, only the big middle one would be used.


System right now is:
P6T Deluxe Mobo
Intel Core i7 (2.67GHz)
6 GB of DDR3 1600 RAM (Will be adding another 6 later with monitors)
Corsair TX 750W power supply


I wanna know which GPU's my system can handle for this set up, I may end up only double screening, or maybe not at all, but I want to be prepared. I don't have money right now for this sorta thing, so it's a "future planning" so if I need to replace parts that's ok. Just wanted to get all of you thinking on this now, so maybe in a little bit I can start buying.
__________________

Gothch1ck is offline  
Old 04-05-2009, 06:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: GPU needs and such

A modern gpu with 1 gig or more memory should be good. Look at ATI radeon 48xx cards and nvidia GT260 and up.
__________________

__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 04-05-2009, 11:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: GPU needs and such

I don't think you need more than 6 gigs of ram. better off saving that money and putting it towards a ****** video card.
Thresh25 is offline  
Old 04-06-2009, 01:18 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
objecterror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 731
Default Re: GPU needs and such

Unless you are using a 64bit OS , the 6GB is overkill. Try 2GB with the games you are playing now, that i7 sounds like a beast of a CPU coupled with a great graphics card. What does your budget look like?
objecterror is offline  
Old 04-06-2009, 03:11 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: GPU needs and such

Quote:
Originally Posted by objecterror View Post
Unless you are using a 64bit OS , the 6GB is overkill. Try 2GB with the games you are playing now, that i7 sounds like a beast of a CPU coupled with a great graphics card. What does your budget look like?
2GB? Are we back in 2003?

:/

4GB is definitely the standard today and since i7 is tri-channel 6GB should be the minimum. However, I agree that 12GB is a bit overkill.

As for the videocard, I'd get either a 4890 or GTX 275
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 04-06-2009, 05:34 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: GPU needs and such

Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
2GB? Are we back in 2003?
I've only ever needed 2GB once while gaming, which is in Empire: Total War @ max, 1600x1200.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 04-06-2009, 11:25 AM   #7 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: GPU needs and such

Yha, even m y moms Laptop, 32bit Vista, came with 3gigs
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 04-06-2009, 02:16 PM   #8 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: GPU needs and such

On the ram issue I'm going to say get 3 or 6 gigs of ram. You have an i7 so you have trichannel, which means your ram modules will come in multiples of 3. 3 is fine, and 6 will give you a lot of wiggle room. keep in mind that memory improves with time, and the ddr3 we have next year will be better for the same price. When DDR2 came out it was nothing like it is today. So 6gigs now may be a poor investment. Just my $.02

If you want a particular card recommendation get the 4890. Great value. Beats the gtx260, gtx275 and in some cases the gtx280. 4890s are also a bit cheaper than gtx275s and are in stock now.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 04-06-2009, 02:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: GPU needs and such

+1 to zmatt here. I like the idea of 6gb, but that could possibly be because most DDR2 systems that people build have 4gb, and 3gb sounds like a downgrade to me. :P 6gb is worth it in the long run.

Now for a 3 monitor system, you're going to need 2 cards, or you could grab one 4850 x2. I would recommend the 4850 x2 option.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 04-06-2009, 02:46 PM   #10 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: GPU needs and such

For tri-monitor, wouldn't it be smart to buy 1 great card for the main gaming screen, then an okay card for your "wings"

Saves you cash, and gets you a good gaming.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.