Got Wrong Windows XP Home - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-21-2006, 02:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Kdar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 894
Default Got Wrong Windows XP Home

OK I didnt looked and buyed Windows XP Home Upgrade...
Now I ****ed... Since I cannot find any older Windows CD.
I guess I looked at price first and didnt some that it is upgraded.
Do you think I can get like Windows 98 from Torrents so that the Windows Installer, that I have now, would recognize it?
Since I did buy the ligal copy....

Plus I dont really care about Windows, since I will run Linux mostly. I got Windows only for things like Games etc...
__________________

Kdar is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 02:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default

you must know someone with an old copy of windows. ask your friends someone has to have an old copy of win95 or 98.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 02:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

If you do it that way, you're going to have to use the Fat32 file system. It's a lot more messy and inefficient. Maybe you can ebay a copy of windows 2K?

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 03:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default

I thought that the upgrade only wants to see an original disk for verification. you do not have or would want to install the old version first. Just do a clean install and pop the old disk in when windows wants to verify.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 03:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Kdar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 894
Default

Yes.. But I dont have the old Windows CD... that the problem
Kdar is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 03:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

Yes you can download the win 98se disc from pretty much any torrent site. Upgrade editions just ask you to pop the cd in the drive and it will verify that it is indeed a copy of 98se and continue with the install.
Or you can also install 98se on your machine and then do the xp upgrade. If you go this route you'll have to reformat your drive to NTFS during the install. I've done this on my lappy when my hd crashed.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 03:17 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Kdar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 894
Default

ok thks. DL now
Kdar is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 04:05 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 300
Default

Downlaod Windows 2k (Torrent)
__________________
Sig reinstated SigSanta
Kazama is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 03:33 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 203
Send a message via AIM to locki433
Default

you can convert fat32 to ntfs after the install. it's a command line function.
__________________
Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe
Opteron 175 @ 2.80Ghz
Zalman CNPS7000-Cu
OCZ DDR500 2048 Gold XTC
eVGA 7800GTx 256MB PCI-E
Lite-On 16x DVD+-RW DL
Mushkin 120GB SSD SATAIII
Seagate 1TB SataII x 2
Dell 20.1 Inch Widescreen LCD
locki433 is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 03:35 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Kdar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 894
Default

Ok. I did the install of Windows XP Home using Windows 98SE from Torrent.
Quote:
Originally posted by locki433
you can convert fat32 to ntfs after the install. it's a command line function.
How you do it?
__________________

Kdar is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.