Got the pieces from neweeg - now how do I build it? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-31-2005, 11:52 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 54
Question Got the pieces from neweeg - now how do I build it?

Guys - thanks to all of your great help and direction I purchased the following system from newegg:

MB DFI|NF4 LANPARTY nF4 SLI-DR RT - Retail (Qty=1,Price=$198.00)
CPU AMD 64 |4000+ ATHLON 64 939P RT - Retail (Qty=1,Price=$368.00)
OCZ DUAL 2G(1Gx2) DDR 400 RT - Retail (Qty=2,Price=$539.90)
FD 1.44MB|SONY MPF920 Black % - OEM (Qty=1,Price=$11.00)
HD 74GB|WD 10,000RPM 8MB WD740GD % - OEM (Qty=1,Price=$183.00)
HD250G|ST 7200 8M SATA ST3250823AS% - OEM (Qty=2,Price=$224.00)
KB IDEAZON|ZBOARD GAMING KEYBOARD - Retail (Qty=1,Price=$43.00)
CDRW/DVD CMB SONY CRX320EE/B2S BLK - OEM (Qty=1,Price=$31.00)
DVD+/-RW 16X SONY DWQ28A SW OEM - OEM (Qty=1,Price=$39.99)
CD MS|WIN XP PRO w/SP2 % - OEM (Qty=1,Price=$141.95)
CABLE Y|POWER SPLITTER 5-1/4 - OEM (Qty=1,Price=$0.00)
MNTR VWSNC|19"LCD 8msDVI VP191B - Retail (Qty=1,Price=$439.99)
VGA EVGA|GF 7800GTX 256-P2-N529-AX - Retail (Qty=1,Price=$579.00)
PS PC PWR & CLG | 510 SLI-PFC RET - Retail (Qty=1,Price=$229.00)
TOOL ACC|ANTI-STATIC F8E093 BELKIN - Retail (Qty=1,Price=$5.99)
CASE LIANLI|PC-60BPlus RT - Retail (Qty=1,Price=$129.00)

Last night I spent about 4 hours starting the build!! What a task. The manuals don't seem to be that helpful. I got the power supply in the case - mounted the mother board - installed the memory - installed the CPU - mounted 1 of my DVD drives - mounted the third hard drives and installed the video card. However I am clueless as to what I have to do as far as jumpers and settings on the motherboard.

I hooked up the 24 pin from the power supply to the motherboard. Does the power supply hook up to the mother board anywhere else? How do I know what jumper settings to use on the motherboard? For example the owners manual mentions jumper settings based on the power supply with jumpers for 5V and 5VSB for PS/2 and USB Power -- this is greek to me. What do I choose? Here is the link to my power supply -
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817703001

What do the jumpers for S/PDIF-out settings do? One option is S/PDIF-out via ALC850 and one is S/PDIF-out via nForce4 (Greek to me).

Sorry for the questions guys but this motherboard stuff seems really confusing!
__________________

jowens is offline  
Old 08-31-2005, 11:58 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

Okay. I think there should be a 4 pin (2 by 2) comming from the PSU that should be plugged in to the motherboard as well. Don't change any jumper settings on the motherboard, it should be set to what you want to do like all motherboards anyways.

EDIT:: Yeah there is a 4 pin, here it is:


Make sure you plug in power to the video card. the S/PDIF you can leave alone, if you don't know what it is, don't tamper with it, I don't think you'll be using it to tell you the truth. The reason it says ALC850 vs nForce 4, is because those are the two choices of which you can run it off of (nForce4 is the native chipset on your board).
__________________

__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 08-31-2005, 12:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

http://www.mysuperpc.com/
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 08-31-2005, 12:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 54
Default

Does my video card have a power plug? I looked at the card and did not notice one?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130237

Thanks!
__________________
AMD 64 4000+ San Diego
EVGA 7800 GTX
4 GB Memory
jowens is offline  
Old 08-31-2005, 11:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 54
Default

Ok guys---I am making progress. However I put Windows XP pro in the DVD to boot. It boots and gets to the screen to select where I want to install windows to. If I select either of the 2 250GB drives listed above it lets me install windows - if I select the 74GB Raptor I get the following message - partition is not a windows xp-compatible partition and it will not let me install to this drive. Any ideas?
__________________
AMD 64 4000+ San Diego
EVGA 7800 GTX
4 GB Memory
jowens is offline  
Old 09-01-2005, 01:12 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

You need to format the drive that's all. Format it into NTFS, you have that option when you boot from the CD.
__________________

__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.