Got a new server. What would you do? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-16-2012, 04:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 2
Default Got a new server. What would you do?

Hi guys,
I need your opinion.

What I have:

HP PROLIANT ML350PT08 E5-2620
Intel Xeon E5-2620 / 2 GHz ( 6-core )

4x4GB 1Rx4 PC3-10600R-9
RAID Smart Array P420i/512MB FBWC
5 x HP 300GB HOTSWAP SAS 2.5'' 10K
HP 460W HOT PLUG 503296-B21

WINDOWS SERVER STD 2012 X64
about 60 users


What I need:

Domain Controller
Filer server
Print server
Maybe TS (not much than 5 users at the same time)

So pros,

How would you do it?

No VM? 1 VM? 2 VMs? 3 VMs?

Tell me, what do you think would be the best practice?

Thanks!
__________________

Lakeside View is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 04:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
iFargle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 4,028
Default Re: Got a new server. What would you do?

Personally I'd to a VM for each server, so if something breaks on one, the entire thing doesn't die. Maybe combine the file and print servers, but that's about it.
__________________

__________________
7700k 32GB RAM 512GB 960 Pro GTX 1080 NCase M1
15" Retina MBP || 64GB Nexus 6P || 64GB iPad Air 2
Battle.net: iFargle #1561 || Steam/Origin: iFargle
iFargle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 05:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 2
Default Re: Got a new server. What would you do?

Quote:
Originally Posted by iFargle View Post
Personally I'd to a VM for each server, so if something breaks on one, the entire thing doesn't die. Maybe combine the file and print servers, but that's about it.
Thanks
Lakeside View is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 05:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default Re: Got a new server. What would you do?

I would do TS and domain on one, file and print on the other.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.