Got new cpu today, FX-53 advice? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-24-2006, 01:58 AM   #1 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Got new cpu today, FX-53 advice?

Stepping is CAAEC

ANy overclocking advie?

Any stepping advice?

Its currently at 2.55ghz at + .05 V and ram at 2.75v at 210mhz
__________________

__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 07-24-2006, 02:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default

I hope you didnt pay to much for that.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 07-24-2006, 02:54 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 144
Default

great attitude mguire, I LIKE IT =) who the **** gets a fx53 nowadays, well you really dont need to overclock a fx processor cuz i dont think you will notice that much of an improvement
__________________
(>-.-)==>
RepuLse is offline  
Old 07-24-2006, 03:49 AM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default

I agree to a point. You OC a Conroe and you see a massive performance increase (so they say). I put that comment like that because i was giving him the benefeit of the doubt that he might have goten it for free or on a really good deal. He might have also got it for a second computer or something soo yea. FX-53's arent that bad yet but there is still better.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 07-24-2006, 10:20 AM   #5 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default

I picked up a
fx-53
6800 ultra
gigabyte 939 agp mobo
antec 480 watt trupower

for 240 bucks and i took the fx--53 and am using the 3700 i had before for the other rig which is going to be for my brother.

As it stands, it turned out to be one helluva rig for less than 300 bucks
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 07-24-2006, 11:32 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 158
Send a message via AIM to kaname
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by aspire.comptech
I picked up a
fx-53
6800 ultra
gigabyte 939 agp mobo
antec 480 watt trupower

for 240 bucks and i took the fx--53 and am using the 3700 i had before for the other rig which is going to be for my brother.

As it stands, it turned out to be one helluva rig for less than 300 bucks
All that for $240 is a great deal.
__________________
EVGA 680i SLi
E6400 @ 3.0 GHz
4 GB OCZ Platinum Rev. 2 EL @ 880
400GB + 250GB Seagate Barracuda SATA2
EVGA 8800GTs
Antec P180B Case
kaname is offline  
Old 07-24-2006, 12:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default

Yup

Just gotta get windows installed and it should be up and running
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 07-24-2006, 02:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

nice deal you got there
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 07-24-2006, 02:12 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 130
Default

amazing, since i got 240 dollars for my amd x2 3800+ and 70 for my evga nforce4 a week ago LOL
Travis18 is offline  
Old 07-24-2006, 02:30 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
RockyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 893
Send a message via AIM to RockyZ
Default

2.6 was the higest I could run without it overheating on my old heatsink.

2.8 if you raise the multiplier but it needs A LOT of voltage.
__________________

__________________

e6300@2.8GHZ
G. Skill 4GB(2x2GB) DDR800
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB
super pi: 1m=20s
RockyZ is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.