Got my ZALMAN CNPS9500 LED Today! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-09-2005, 10:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 609
Default Got my ZALMAN CNPS9500 LED Today!

Guys, if you looking to stay away from Water Cooling, and want an awesome heatsink. WoW @ Zalmans new entry, this thing is amazing. I used to idle around 40-43c, now I'm idling at 32 with 40 loads. The fan only kicks on onces it hits a certain temp. Half the time its off. Its so sweet. And looks very nice as well. I paid 68.99 from newegg. Some people can beat that, but I got it in 2 days and installed very nicely with my 3200 Venice, 939. Very Happy, Very Nice, I will update pics when I get them.
__________________

__________________

•AMD 8120 @ 3.8Ghz
•CoolerMaster Hyper212 EVO
•MSI 970A G46
•8GB Dual-Channel 1600Mhz DDR3 Corsair Vengeance
•eVGA 660 GTX Ti
•128gb Samsung 830 SSD (OS, Games)
•2TB Seagate 7200rpm 64mb Barracuda SATA6GB's
•640gb WD (Cavier Blue)
•CoolerMaster HAF-X
AuThoRitY is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 10:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

I have a 40 dollar Zalman and couldnt be happier with what i payed for. Nice copper plates, blue light and 2300 RPM's... bad thing though, its just a TAD bit on the heavy side.. but all in all a good cooler, would recommend
__________________

Static_11 is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 11:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

What motherboard are you using? How big is it? How easy was it to install? I am just waiting for Zalman to release one without the neon lights
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 11:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

my install took an hour lol.. i was a noob at the time and had to take out my mobo.. plus the way the platforms are set up.... its kinda hard to get the screws in the holes.. well it wouldnt be, but i had a short screwdriver and had to have my 9 y.o. sis hold the screws til i got em started. I have no idea how big mine is...
Static_11 is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 11:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 609
Default

I have a DFI LanParty Ultra-D nF4 board, 939. It took about maybe 1/2 hour to an hour. Because I had to take everything out including the mobo. It was super easy to install the 2 screws that hold my original heatsink brackets to the mobo just unscrewed u place the fan over the holes and screw the fan down. One side at a time at an equal pace. Went real nice and smooth. And it runs w/ a thing called Fan-Mate 2 I believe which monitors everything and gives you a speed option. The neon lights on low speed are actually off. On high speed it gets fairly bright not insanely though. My 2 case fans and my UV lights are whats really lighting up the case. The zalman is maybe .1 percent of my lighting. But anyway I give 5out of 5 rating. :-)
__________________

•AMD 8120 @ 3.8Ghz
•CoolerMaster Hyper212 EVO
•MSI 970A G46
•8GB Dual-Channel 1600Mhz DDR3 Corsair Vengeance
•eVGA 660 GTX Ti
•128gb Samsung 830 SSD (OS, Games)
•2TB Seagate 7200rpm 64mb Barracuda SATA6GB's
•640gb WD (Cavier Blue)
•CoolerMaster HAF-X
AuThoRitY is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 11:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

i think mostly all zalmans come with fanmate 2.. its just a speed adjuster
Static_11 is offline  
Old 11-10-2005, 07:11 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 765
Default

Isn't Fanmate 2 the manual adjuster? If I choose not to use fanmate would the fan still regulate itself like it was said earlier (how it only kicks in when it gets hot)?
septoid2 is offline  
Old 11-10-2005, 07:54 AM   #8 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

So sweet, it will fit on my motherboard!
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 11-10-2005, 08:10 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

lol, fanmate 2 is the manual adjuster yes... he has a sensor on his hsf to let it know when it needs to kick on when/if it starts getting to hot
Static_11 is offline  
Old 11-10-2005, 08:43 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Spartan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 814
Default

i have the same heatsink minus the LED, my system at "full load" runs ar 35 C, enjoy it and do some OCing, lol
__________________

Spartan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.