Got my shiznit today - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-06-2007, 04:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Stanton, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,017
Send a message via AIM to psp_crazy1
Default Got my shiznit today

I now have 3gb of ram, 2gb of gskill, and one gb of corsair XMS2

Running an e4300 at 300mhz FSB (4-4-4-12), and I raised the voltage to 1.9, since I want it to run stable. Stock voltage, btw.

Also, my xcilo PSU is awesome. Just my DVD drive is dieing, and my mobo is freaking out, all of these probally from my old crappy psu.
__________________

__________________
AMD 4850 - e4300 / Tuniq
Gigabyte DS3 - Gskill NQ 2gb
WD 200gb - Hitachi 60gb
Ultra ATX wizard case - Xcilio 500 watt


Toshiba Satellite A305
Sony Vaio VGN-BX560B
Sony Vaio (P3, 256mb RAM)
psp_crazy1 is offline  
Old 12-06-2007, 05:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Got my shiznit today

3gb is an odd number of ram, is dual channel still enabled?
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 12-06-2007, 05:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Got my shiznit today

it is if you run 2 x 1gb and 2 x 512kb.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 12-06-2007, 05:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
ShaolinDreams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 457
Default Re: Got my shiznit today

the guy that wanted 3 rather then 2 or 4 hehehe

nice one mate, i hope your comp its puring like a kitten
__________________
Gaming Rig
Intel Core 2 E6600 @ 3Ghz -Upgrade- Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro 25C/35C
Asus P5N-D Nforce 750i 1333FSB
Crucial Ballistix 2x1GB DDR2 800MHz -Upgrade- Crucial Ballistix Tracer RED 2x2GB 800Mhz
2x SataII, 2x IDE Total = 1.1Tb
EVGA 8800GTS 512mb 'Crysis Edition' @ 750/1900/2000
Onboard Realtek 8.1 Sound Jazzy!
Hiper Type-R 580w -Upgrade- Gigabyte ODIN GT 800W
Modded iCute -Upgrade- Antec 900
19" Iiyama CRT -NEXT Upgrade!- Samsung SM-T260HD 26" w/ Digital TV Tuner / Samsung SM-T240 24"

3DMark06 Score- 13k :)
ShaolinDreams is offline  
Old 12-06-2007, 05:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Stanton, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,017
Send a message via AIM to psp_crazy1
Default Re: Got my shiznit today

nah, i got this 1 gig till I get another 2 gigs of gskill ram, then will probally use the left over omputer parts to build my mom a computer, since her crappy laptop broke.

I'm just saving up for a ds3R now, since my ds3-965P is acting very strange.
__________________
AMD 4850 - e4300 / Tuniq
Gigabyte DS3 - Gskill NQ 2gb
WD 200gb - Hitachi 60gb
Ultra ATX wizard case - Xcilio 500 watt


Toshiba Satellite A305
Sony Vaio VGN-BX560B
Sony Vaio (P3, 256mb RAM)
psp_crazy1 is offline  
Old 12-06-2007, 06:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Drewser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Big Island-Hawaii
Posts: 115
Send a message via MSN to Drewser
Default Re: Got my shiznit today

So in order to have dual channel to still be enabled, you have to have 2 1gb sticks in dual channel and then 2 512mb sticks???

Or could you just go 2 1gb sticks in dual channel and then another 1gb stick?
__________________
*INTEL Quad-Core Q6600 GO (yet to OC...)
*EVGA 8800GT 650/950
*2GB RAM
*2X 150GB WD Raid 0
*22" Gateway HD LCD Display
*Delta 700W PSU
Drewser is offline  
Old 12-06-2007, 06:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Stanton, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,017
Send a message via AIM to psp_crazy1
Default Re: Got my shiznit today

No. It's in dual channel interleaved, as says it on POST

2 x 1gb gskill
2 x 512mb corsair
__________________
AMD 4850 - e4300 / Tuniq
Gigabyte DS3 - Gskill NQ 2gb
WD 200gb - Hitachi 60gb
Ultra ATX wizard case - Xcilio 500 watt


Toshiba Satellite A305
Sony Vaio VGN-BX560B
Sony Vaio (P3, 256mb RAM)
psp_crazy1 is offline  
Old 12-06-2007, 09:17 PM   #8 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Got my shiznit today

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drewser View Post
So in order to have dual channel to still be enabled, you have to have 2 1gb sticks in dual channel and then 2 512mb sticks???

Or could you just go 2 1gb sticks in dual channel and then another 1gb stick?
no, you have to have an even number of sticks for them to be able to run in dual channel. or for 4 gb obviously you could put 4 1gb sticks in.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
18 today murdocsvan Off Topic Discussion 33 12-05-2007 02:07 AM
ZoneAlarm's Anti-Spyware Is Free Today!! Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 4 11-14-2007 05:36 PM
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM
Got most of my computer parts today... Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 27 08-14-2007 07:28 AM
Need some help choosing memory before I buy today guitarplyrstevo New Systems | Building and Buying 6 04-02-2007 02:52 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.