Got my second 4870, How do I crossfire??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-23-2008, 03:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
shan1784's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 396
Default Got my second 4870, How do I crossfire???

Might be a dumb question but how do I do it... Is it as simple as installing the second card, connecting the cables to each other and that's it?

Not sure if there are specific drivers I need, or if some other setup in BIOS or CCC... Any help would be appreciated...
__________________

__________________
Rosewill Thor V2 Full Tower - i5 3570K Stock W/ CORSAIR Hydro Series H60
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600
Asus Sabertooth Z77 Mother Board - GTX 680 FTW+ w/Backplate 4GB
SAMSUNG 840 Pro 128GB SSD - Seagate Barracuda 1TB HDD
Asus DVDRW 24x - CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX850 PSU
Samsung P2770FH ToC Rose Black 27" Monitor - Logitech G15 Keyboard
MX518 Mouse - Logitech x540 5.1 Speakers
Turtle Beach HPA2 5.1 Surround Sound Headset - Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
shan1784 is offline  
Old 07-23-2008, 04:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Got my second 4870, How do I crossfire???

Nope, just throw the bridge on, plug in the Power Connector into your second, then you'll need to have Catalyst Control Center installed... and enable Crossfire in the settings

Then your done
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-23-2008, 05:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Got my second 4870, How do I crossfire???

Crossfirex is actually enabled by default. Plug in 2nd card, put BOTH bridges on, boot up.

I swear every single time i pull my cards out, i forget to put my bridges back on.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crossfire Calculations!!!! (I'm kind of happy/dissapointed) Drizzt New Systems | Building and Buying 10 07-23-2008 10:16 AM
SLI or Crossfire insane84722 New Systems | Building and Buying 38 07-15-2008 03:10 AM
Crossfire 4870 is alive! veedubfreak New Systems | Building and Buying 47 07-08-2008 01:26 PM
crossfire calsonic System Upgrades 7 05-16-2008 11:50 AM
Crossfire Question with X1950XT Ethereal_Dragon New Systems | Building and Buying 14 11-25-2007 01:30 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.