Got my second 4870, How do I crossfire??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-23-2008, 02:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
shan1784's Avatar
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 396
Default Got my second 4870, How do I crossfire???

Might be a dumb question but how do I do it... Is it as simple as installing the second card, connecting the cables to each other and that's it?

Not sure if there are specific drivers I need, or if some other setup in BIOS or CCC... Any help would be appreciated...

Rosewill Thor V2 Full Tower - i5 3570K Stock W/ CORSAIR Hydro Series H60
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600
Asus Sabertooth Z77 Mother Board - GTX 680 FTW+ w/Backplate 4GB
SAMSUNG 840 Pro 128GB SSD - Seagate Barracuda 1TB HDD
Asus DVDRW 24x - CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX850 PSU
Samsung P2770FH ToC Rose Black 27" Monitor - Logitech G15 Keyboard
MX518 Mouse - Logitech x540 5.1 Speakers
Turtle Beach HPA2 5.1 Surround Sound Headset - Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
shan1784 is offline  
Old 07-23-2008, 03:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
veg1992's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Got my second 4870, How do I crossfire???

Nope, just throw the bridge on, plug in the Power Connector into your second, then you'll need to have Catalyst Control Center installed... and enable Crossfire in the settings

Then your done

I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.

.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-23-2008, 04:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
veedubfreak's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Got my second 4870, How do I crossfire???

Crossfirex is actually enabled by default. Plug in 2nd card, put BOTH bridges on, boot up.

I swear every single time i pull my cards out, i forget to put my bridges back on.
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crossfire Calculations!!!! (I'm kind of happy/dissapointed) Drizzt New Systems | Building and Buying 10 07-23-2008 09:16 AM
SLI or Crossfire insane84722 New Systems | Building and Buying 38 07-15-2008 02:10 AM
Crossfire 4870 is alive! veedubfreak New Systems | Building and Buying 47 07-08-2008 12:26 PM
crossfire calsonic System Upgrades 7 05-16-2008 10:50 AM
Crossfire Question with X1950XT Ethereal_Dragon New Systems | Building and Buying 14 11-25-2007 12:30 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:39 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.