Got my parts - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-05-2007, 09:13 PM   #41 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,009
Default Re: Got my parts

I found my System Clock settings, i see a place where it says 1067, and another place that says 533, which one should i increase to up my processor speed?

edit: i've also gotten the blue screen of death twice now, where can i check the error log?
__________________

AP4LIFETN is offline  
Old 06-05-2007, 09:28 PM   #42 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Got my parts

The one that says 1067 would be your FSB, and the 533 would be the speed of the ram. So you would increase the FSB to, lets say 1100. Then test that for stability.

edit:Already the BSOD? What did you do before?
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-05-2007, 09:38 PM   #43 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,009
Default Re: Got my parts

nothing, i left it on overnight the first time, woke up to a BSOD, then i changed some firefox settings, and BSOD also came on, and the firefox one was a few minutes ago...the 533 is my ram? it says my ram freq is 800mHz

edit: nvm, thats where the 2:3 ratio comes in huh?
AP4LIFETN is offline  
Old 06-05-2007, 09:46 PM   #44 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Got my parts

yay-yer...exactly.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 06-05-2007, 09:50 PM   #45 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default Re: Got my parts

set your ram to unlinked and set it to 800 mhz so you can atleast run it at stock speed. You have awesome ram, i know by experience, don't let it go to waste at 533 mhz.
__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Old 06-05-2007, 09:56 PM   #46 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Got my parts

ahhhhh...the beauty of intel....
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 06-05-2007, 10:02 PM   #47 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,009
Default Re: Got my parts

so increase the 533 to 800, and change ratio to 1:1? will that give me improvement over the current 533 2:3 setting?
will this mess with my CPU speed?
AP4LIFETN is offline  
Old 06-05-2007, 11:03 PM   #48 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default Re: Got my parts

No don't change the ration to 1:1, set it to the "unlinked" option, and then up the 533 to 800. It will not change anything about your CPU, it will just get your memory to run at its proper speed. It is currently running slower than it is supposed to.
__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Old 06-05-2007, 11:36 PM   #49 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
siddanth3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: manchester, NH
Posts: 395
Default Re: Got my parts

i am a noob too, so how do u check for stability?
and one moe question, when one overclocks a cpu, is it necessary to play around with the RAM? if so, then why or why not?
__________________
Antec 900
P4 prescott @3ghz HT 775
ViewSonic 20.1" lcd display + Samsung SyncMaster 2253
Corsair 2x512mb ddr2 533
FoxConn M7VMX-K LGA 775
FPS 400watt
WD 640 GB + WD 320 GB
Western Digital My Book 320gb
Evga 7900 GS
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech Navigation Keyboard
Razer Diamondback Plasma Blue
siddanth3 is offline  
Old 06-06-2007, 12:22 AM   #50 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Got my parts

jeeeeez....
if you cant get your cpu to stabilize at that speed...forget about the ram.
get your chip stable FIRST. then worry about your memory.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Advice on Purchasing Computer - XPS 710 or what Parts Ragnos New Systems | Building and Buying 41 06-03-2007 05:15 PM
Advise With Upgrading Parts Rowan_7 New Systems | Building and Buying 5 05-30-2007 06:05 PM
Bought the other parts, just need to wait for the newegg parts :D pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 05-26-2007 09:24 AM
Good Used Parts - Old Stuff Fastvan67 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 0 04-29-2007 12:22 AM
Some Computer Parts. __Camouflage__ Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 5 04-19-2007 02:01 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.