Got my 7900gt KO - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-01-2006, 11:24 PM   #31 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wetaskiwin Alberta
Posts: 498
Send a message via MSN to nVdia Send a message via Yahoo to nVdia
Default

Hey I'm tryin to run 3dmark05 but it stops within 3 minutes and I get an err message and it stops does anyone know why it could be doing this?
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 duo E6750
Gigabyte S series N650 SLI
Evga 8800GT Superclocked 512MB
4 Patriot Extreme DDR2800
Seagate Barracuda 320gig SATA 2
Seagate Barracuda 200gig SATA 2
Antec 900 Gaming Case
Enermax Liberty 620watt Modular
Acer 22inch Widescreen HDTV/DVI
Windows Vista Ultimate 32 Bit
nVdia is offline  
Old 07-01-2006, 11:24 PM   #32 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default

sounds like an unstable oc
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 07-02-2006, 12:47 AM   #33 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wetaskiwin Alberta
Posts: 498
Send a message via MSN to nVdia Send a message via Yahoo to nVdia
Default

could it be my processor?

EDIT: I put my pocessor back to stock speeds and it still does it. The message contained my product ID protocol. Something like that.
__________________
Intel Core 2 duo E6750
Gigabyte S series N650 SLI
Evga 8800GT Superclocked 512MB
4 Patriot Extreme DDR2800
Seagate Barracuda 320gig SATA 2
Seagate Barracuda 200gig SATA 2
Antec 900 Gaming Case
Enermax Liberty 620watt Modular
Acer 22inch Widescreen HDTV/DVI
Windows Vista Ultimate 32 Bit
nVdia is offline  
Old 07-02-2006, 01:01 AM   #34 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 232
Default

Does it happen everytime?

Sometimes, if something interrupts your test, it will cancel.

If not, then the videocard is just unstable. What've you overclocked it to (if at all)?

Oh yea, did you change the voltage when you overclocked your processor? Change memory speed? Change LDT multi?
Infomatic is offline  
Old 07-02-2006, 01:02 AM   #35 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 232
Default

Double post, dunno what I was thinking.
Infomatic is offline  
Old 07-02-2006, 01:16 AM   #36 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

So should I get another 7900GT KO S.C.? How many FPS would I get better on average? Well actually this just applies to ET:Quake Wars as its the only new game I'm really looking forward to, and its just a Doom 3 based ET game. Though I'm sure the engine is slightly modified, what with the Mega-Texture deal and what not.
The General is offline  
Old 07-02-2006, 01:27 AM   #37 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 232
Default

Depends. Do you need the power of 2 7900GT KO SCs? Lol.

It IS a $300 investment.
Infomatic is offline  
Old 07-02-2006, 01:39 AM   #38 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wetaskiwin Alberta
Posts: 498
Send a message via MSN to nVdia Send a message via Yahoo to nVdia
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Infomatic
Does it happen everytime?

Sometimes, if something interrupts your test, it will cancel.

If not, then the videocard is just unstable. What've you overclocked it to (if at all)?

Oh yea, did you change the voltage when you overclocked your processor? Change memory speed? Change LDT multi?
Ya I upped my CPU voltage and no my card is not overclocked at all the temps are 60 on a full load and 50 on idle my ram is running a 400 mhz and my HT 964. I think it mighte be the software itself.
__________________
Intel Core 2 duo E6750
Gigabyte S series N650 SLI
Evga 8800GT Superclocked 512MB
4 Patriot Extreme DDR2800
Seagate Barracuda 320gig SATA 2
Seagate Barracuda 200gig SATA 2
Antec 900 Gaming Case
Enermax Liberty 620watt Modular
Acer 22inch Widescreen HDTV/DVI
Windows Vista Ultimate 32 Bit
nVdia is offline  
Old 07-02-2006, 02:29 AM   #39 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default

it could very well be your graphics card

http://evga.com/community/messageboa...sp?FORUM_ID=32

take a look at the stickies
i'm in this same boat with my card, but it's still working after a month of usage.
__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 07-02-2006, 03:04 AM   #40 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

http://downloads.guru3d.com/
you'll find lots of drivers for your 7900 GT
there's omega drivers there aswell, for people with ATI cards

*edit*
Z-Tweaked Forceware 87.25 drivers:
http://downloads.guru3d.com/download.php?det=1401
(works with Rivatuner RC 16)

Omega 3.8.252:
http://downloads.guru3d.com/download.php?det=1411
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.