Got a few questions. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-02-2006, 12:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 443
Default Got a few questions.

Was just looking a the Yonah Core duo's that fit into the new 479 mobos(MSI 945GT Speedster-A4R Socket 479 or another?). Whats the performance like in comparison with what conroe is supposed to be like?

Also whether i wait for conroe or get the yonah, im going to be buying a Aspire X-Qpack case. Its micro atx... what is the best priCeerformance psu i could put in there? I need one that can support a g80, one hdd, one dvd rom and a SB Audigy 2ZS.

Also if i get a yonah id like to be able to OC it. Whats the best available mobo for that.
__________________

__________________
Alienware m5550
Intel Core Duo T2300
ATI Radeon x1400 256mb
2x 512mb Ram

Logitech G7
Creative GigaWorks T-20
--------------------------
blaackoran is offline  
Old 06-02-2006, 02:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 443
Default

anybody know anything>?
__________________

__________________
Alienware m5550
Intel Core Duo T2300
ATI Radeon x1400 256mb
2x 512mb Ram

Logitech G7
Creative GigaWorks T-20
--------------------------
blaackoran is offline  
Old 06-02-2006, 12:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

I think it only supports 478.
turtile is offline  
Old 06-02-2006, 02:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

Wasn't the Yonah a laptops chip...? you can't compare a laptop's chip with a desktop chip..
Yoad is offline  
Old 06-02-2006, 06:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 443
Default

please dont post without facts. Yes Yonah is 478 type, but different then Intels M chip. It fits into a 479 socket desktop mobo. Aopen makes one, as well as MSI and ASUS.

Why exactly cant i compare a laptop chip with a desktop chip? Whose to say that they are strictly laptop or desktop cpus?

Anyway, still looking for opinions...
__________________
Alienware m5550
Intel Core Duo T2300
ATI Radeon x1400 256mb
2x 512mb Ram

Logitech G7
Creative GigaWorks T-20
--------------------------
blaackoran is offline  
Old 06-02-2006, 07:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

Its like comparing a bike to bycycles.

and to which did you say "Please dont post without facts"??? Because I do recall the Yonah is a mobile CPU, but I might be wrong and you just confused me :P
Yoad is offline  
Old 06-02-2006, 07:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 543
Default

http://www.anandtech.com/cpuchipsets...oc.aspx?i=2748

thats the one on the core duo against current desktop cpu's.

http://www.anandtech.com/mb/showdoc.aspx?i=2750

and thats a mobo that supports the skt 479 cpu's.

really good performance on the core duo
__________________
3200+ A64 skt 754
ASUS K8N4-E Deluxe
2x 512mb corsair value
X1800XL 512mb@X1800XT
2x 80g WD SATA
X-FI Platinum
Antec P180b
Running is offline  
Old 06-02-2006, 09:11 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 443
Default

ok seriously NO KIDDING the YONAH is a MOBILE CHIP, which is why i stated that it doesnt fit into INTEL M CHIP MOBOS (which are 478) THE YONAH is called a 478 socket cpu but it fits only into the 479 desktop mobos made especially for it. Please try to pay attention. I guess that is the reason your name is YOAD and not YODA.

yeah the core duo is nice, quiet, low volts, low heat oc's nicely... but i want to know if it would be better then a conroe, since im packing it into a small cube case where heat might get to be an issue when im OCing.
__________________
Alienware m5550
Intel Core Duo T2300
ATI Radeon x1400 256mb
2x 512mb Ram

Logitech G7
Creative GigaWorks T-20
--------------------------
blaackoran is offline  
Old 06-02-2006, 09:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 543
Default

ah i see didn't understand your original question. conroe would most likely perform better because its like the 2nd version of the core duo. but if your packing it all into a small case, i think the core duo would be better.
__________________
3200+ A64 skt 754
ASUS K8N4-E Deluxe
2x 512mb corsair value
X1800XL 512mb@X1800XT
2x 80g WD SATA
X-FI Platinum
Antec P180b
Running is offline  
Old 06-02-2006, 09:16 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 443
Default

oh yeah and the psu is not that strong, so the lower wattage of the cpu will let me run a better video card... my goal is a g80, one hdd, one dvd rom and a SB Audigy 2ZS and either a conroe or core duo.

Right now the Core Duo is obviously the most advanced CPU on the market....but how much better will conroe likely be?
__________________

__________________
Alienware m5550
Intel Core Duo T2300
ATI Radeon x1400 256mb
2x 512mb Ram

Logitech G7
Creative GigaWorks T-20
--------------------------
blaackoran is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.