Got 9800GTX in...PSU only has one 6-pin power cord.... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-23-2008, 12:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 80
Default

So I cant use my 9800GTX until i buy another PSU with two power connectors? and what PSU would u guys suggest? i have an Corsair 520W PSU right now.
Edit: sorry wrong PSU

just checked specs, there is another PCI-express slot, but i guess it was taken out when the comp was being built, wasnt needed at the time....is there any stores i can buy a cable from?
__________________

ulcajun is offline  
Old 05-23-2008, 12:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Got 9800GTX in...PSU only has one 6-pin power cord....

All you have to do is hook up a 4-pin molex->6ipin PCI-E power adapter on it. Honestly your 9800GTX probably came with one. If not they aren't hard to get. You don't need a new PSU.

EDIT: Thats right you do have a 520HX like me...there should be two modular PCI-E power pins however just do what I told you if you can't get another modular cable. Just adapt a molex to a pci-e 6 pin.
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 05-23-2008, 12:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 80
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sora View Post
All you have to do is hook up a 4-pin molex->6ipin PCI-E power adapter on it. Honestly your 9800GTX probably came with one. If not they aren't hard to get. You don't need a new PSU.

EDIT: Thats right you do have a 520HX like me...there should be two modular PCI-E power pins however just do what I told you if you can't get another modular cable. Just adapt a molex to a pci-e 6 pin.
thanks you were correct...i just plug in the molex to any available slot from the PSU?

EDIT: cant find any free 4-pins either...think they were taken out too...but i do have a free 8-pin, and it looks like it came with an 8pin to 6pin modular, would that work too?

anyone? ready to turn it on
ulcajun is offline  
Old 05-23-2008, 12:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Got 9800GTX in...PSU only has one 6-pin power cord....

many fan molex heads have two sides which you can route from. If you are out of 4-pin molex ends just search in your case for any dual sided ones such as fans.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 05-23-2008, 12:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 80
Default Re: Got 9800GTX in...PSU only has one 6-pin power cord....

what about the 8 pin to 6 pin? i have it connected, just ready to turn on...will that work?
ulcajun is offline  
Old 05-23-2008, 12:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Got 9800GTX in...PSU only has one 6-pin power cord....

it should...i don't see why not
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 05-23-2008, 01:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 80
Default Re: Got 9800GTX in...PSU only has one 6-pin power cord....

would not turn on using the 8 pin for some reason...got the 4 pin modular to work tho...but its asking me to boot from a cd now...
ulcajun is offline  
Old 05-23-2008, 01:10 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default Re: Got 9800GTX in...PSU only has one 6-pin power cord....

You probably have formatted, select boot from whatever HD your OS is on, you should be set .
__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Old 05-23-2008, 01:10 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 80
Default

is this normal for it to want me to boot from a system disk? or did i unplug something on the HD?
^^thanks, gonna see if i have that option.

looks like i messed something up with the harddrive...its not recognizing it and its asking me to install vista again.
EDIT: HD came unplugged from motherboard....now i have to remember if its the purple or the orange slots that are better....

Learn to edit your last post, do not reply to your own post
ulcajun is offline  
Old 05-23-2008, 01:46 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Got 9800GTX in...PSU only has one 6-pin power cord....

You can order replacement cables from corsair.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old Power supply Guide (2008) Ste New Systems | Building and Buying 223 12-12-2009 09:05 PM
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
Power Supply Guide Ste Overclocking and Modding 0 02-18-2008 03:18 PM
Echo Star 600W 20+4 Pin ATX Power Supply commandercup New Systems | Building and Buying 3 09-04-2007 07:21 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.