good ram for a p43? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-19-2008, 02:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default good ram for a p43?

The egg has new p43 motherboards in stock now and I was considering this Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-EP43-DS3L LGA 775 Intel P43 ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards

for my next build. However the supported memory standards are DDR2 1200(O.C) / 1066. Most of the recommended ram here at T.F. is DDR2 800. Will DDR2 800 work with a p43? And if not what does T.F. recommend I get in place?
__________________

__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 06-19-2008, 03:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: good ram for a p43?

Yes it will. Boards that list support for higher frequency ram, such as 1200 or 1066 already almost always support slower speed rams by default. DDR2 800 will be absolutely fine. The only thing they aren't compatible with is old DDR memory.
__________________

__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 06-19-2008, 04:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: good ram for a p43?

Quote:
Originally Posted by zmatt View Post
The egg has new p43 motherboards in stock now and I was considering this Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-EP43-DS3L LGA 775 Intel P43 ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards

for my next build. However the supported memory standards are DDR2 1200(O.C) / 1066. Most of the recommended ram here at T.F. is DDR2 800. Will DDR2 800 work with a p43? And if not what does T.F. recommend I get in place?
It'll still work man

Man another AMD boy going to the dark-side...
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-19-2008, 05:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: good ram for a p43?

i'll still support AMD though.
i'll keep this rig running (probably folding/being my spare for when i explode my q6600 rig heh heh) and may build another "vintage" socket 462 box to toy around with and run linux or something.
i love AMD. but im tired of waiting.
lol. i blame my parents.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 06-19-2008, 05:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 458
Default Re: good ram for a p43?

Let me know how that board works out for you, im considering getting the same one.
__________________
Intel E8400
Zalman 9500AT
evga 8800gt dual-slot cooler
4gig (2x2gb)g.skill ddr2 1066
gigabyte p43-ds3L
Antec sonata II mid tower
200gb Seagate HDD, 500gb Seagate HDD, 1TB Seagate HDD
bkolk is offline  
Old 06-19-2008, 05:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: good ram for a p43?

oh im sure i'll make it well known how good (or bad lol) it works!
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 06-19-2008, 06:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: good ram for a p43?

Oh don't worry guys I <3 my Opteron rig. She has been really good to me. But after 2 AMD rigs in a row I'm going Intel this time. I'm short on cash and they give me the best bang for buck. Wolfdale here I come. After looking around at memory i think I may go with a pair of Reapers running at 1066.

After I get it up and running I'll be sure to give a full report of my impressions. I hope it's as good as my KN8 Ultra.
__________________

__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
this any good ram? stalin90 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 05-03-2008 06:01 PM
RAM Upgrade Problem millsy5 System Upgrades 7 03-14-2008 05:56 AM
Dell precision 650 workstation 1Gb ram trouble cmfugen Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 02-16-2008 02:47 AM
Need help with ram identification s37d System Upgrades 5 02-08-2008 02:22 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.