Is this a good ps for this setup? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-22-2007, 09:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Phase-Six's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 250
Default Is this a good ps for this setup?

The psu is this : Newegg.com - HIPER HPU-4K580-MS ATX12V v2.2 580W Power Supply 100 - 120V - Retail

And I want to know if this is going to work with my setup. heres my old list that I posted a while back with all the fixed linkz.

Current build (in progress) questions, And other questions I need finalized!

btw im getting a gtx next christmas will this be good enough to run it?
__________________

Phase-Six is offline  
Old 03-22-2007, 09:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Is this a good ps for this setup?

Good PSU but about 250 watts overkill from what is needed on a 7600GS and about 130 from an 8800GTX. I would get a good 500w watt.


It will run an 8800GTX but christmas is a bit longt o already knowing what card your going to get isnt it? There will be many many new cards out with different prices so I wouldnt plan that far ahead.
__________________

Sora is offline  
Old 03-22-2007, 09:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Phase-Six's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 250
Default Re: Is this a good ps for this setup?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sora View Post
Good PSU but about 250 watts overkill from what is needed on a 7600GS and about 130 from an 8800GTX. I would get a good 500w watt.


It will run an 8800GTX but christmas is a bit longt o already knowing what card your going to get isnt it? There will be many many new cards out with different prices so I wouldnt plan that far ahead.
True ill probably use the one that came with my RaidMax gaming case. I put it in this computer for now to see how it would do and its still working perfectly. I believe ill use that one and if it messes up thats when ill buy a new one.

Edit: I got to thinking and I'd rather keep the 500 in this case but buy another quality ps, any good brands I should look for?
Phase-Six is offline  
Old 03-22-2007, 09:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Is this a good ps for this setup?

There is a sticky at the top where Ste talks about good PSU's.
Sora is offline  
Old 03-22-2007, 09:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Is this a good ps for this setup?

I already informed him in another thread thats its not a good idea to use the raidmax power supply unless its either a tagan or topower series. He either has one of the said models and didn't reply or does not have either models, doesn't care and didn't reply anyways.
Ste is offline  
Old 03-22-2007, 10:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Is this a good ps for this setup?

eh yea they aren't very safe...but they can still work if your willing to take the risk.
__________________

Sora is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.