Good Power Supply? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-04-2006, 02:36 PM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

It only takes the power it needs from the socket. It will not be dragging 700w constant. How ever I wouldn't like to paying the bills with a system that requires a 700w PSU.

So is it good or bad?
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 06-04-2006, 02:59 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 738
Default

**** thats amazing.
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ @2.6 ghz
Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
2gb Corsair XMS DDR400 RAM
ATI Radeon x1950xt
MSI RD480 Neo2 Crossfire Mobo
Western Digital 160gb SATA HDD
Fortron 450 watt PSU
KINGWIN SK-523BKP Case
Logitech MX518 Gaming Mouse
NeedAcpu is offline  
Old 06-04-2006, 04:34 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aaronkupen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,848
Send a message via AIM to aaronkupen Send a message via Yahoo to aaronkupen
Default

So, it's a good buy? :-P
__________________
Desktop - Antec Sonata III
Intel Core i3 540
4 GB DDR3-1600 memory
ATI Radeon HD 5670
Windows Vista Business x64
aaronkupen is offline  
Old 06-05-2006, 12:43 AM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 154
Default

I'd say so.

And my power bill really isn't all that high, I've only really got one or two more electronics, my 42" plasma television and my 1000w microwave, yeah, I know, total bachelor pad, but my bill this month was only $120, which I think is just a tad better than the ones my parents used to get, $1,000+ monthly :O
__________________
[SIZE=\"1\"][COLOR=\"Red\"]Case:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] MountainMods U2-UFO[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"Red\"]PSU:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] PCP&C 1kW EPS12V[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"Red\"]Motherboard:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] ASUS P5NSLI[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Blue\"] (Yeah, I know!)[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"Red\"]Processor:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] Retail Core 2 Duo X6800[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Blue\"] Week 26/B2[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"Red\"]RAM:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] 2x1GB OCZ Platinum Rev.2 DDR2-800[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"Red\"]VGA:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] 1x eVGA 7950GX2[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"Red\"]Sound Card:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] SB X-Fi XM[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"Red\"]HDD:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] 2x Raptor 150GB in RAID 0/1x 500GB WD Caviar[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"Red\"]Optical:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] Plextor DVD-R DL PX-716AL[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"Red\"]Speakers:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] Logitech z-5500[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"Red\"]Fans:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] 9x YL D12SM-12[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"Lime\"]Water-Cooling:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] MCP355 w/AlphaCool top/PA120.3/AQX MP-05 SP LE/Silverprop Cyclone NexusSX chipset block[/COLOR]
[/SIZE]
dwarf is offline  
Old 06-05-2006, 01:40 AM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

that's a great PSU
yes, it will support an 8800, it will support SLI'd 8800's and dual AM2 CPU's and still won't struggle
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.