Good Phenom II mobo - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-19-2009, 03:43 PM   #31 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: Good Phenom II mobo

Quote:
Originally Posted by AP4LIFETN View Post
I think at the moment, this only applies for ATI cards, I have read several posts around the net in which ATI admitted that its drivers didn't support multithreading, so the dual to quad core upgrade would not benefit ATi as much as it did NVIDIA cards, whose drivers already support multicore. ATi Catalyst 9.12 should better accommodate quad cores.
heh we will see. I just want better Crossfire support in GTA4, Crysis, and Crysis Warhead. Can you believe that i get better performance in GTA4 on my 1080p HDTV then my own 1680x1050 monitor? 40 fps average compared to 35 fps average on my monitor.
__________________

__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 01-19-2009, 09:26 PM   #32 (permalink)
Running on empty.
 
chesirecat1701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Nicaragua
Posts: 403
Send a message via AIM to chesirecat1701 Send a message via MSN to chesirecat1701 Send a message via Yahoo to chesirecat1701
Default Re: Good Phenom II mobo

Whenever Windows 7 does come out and have had at least 1 SP released for stability only then will I upgrade but of course by then I could've upgraded to another completely different set up as I'm talking within the next 2 years.


I like my Vista plenty fine for now

EDIT: and I'm not going to be running anything to extreme as I have other (expensive) hobbies as well .... *cough* my car *cough* so I don't so much need for anything much more expensive or powerful than the MSI and not to mention that particular board does in fact have a SB750 chipset (;
__________________

chesirecat1701 is offline  
Old 01-20-2009, 05:19 AM   #33 (permalink)
Electical Engineer
 
BongWizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: OZ
Posts: 916
Send a message via AIM to BongWizard Send a message via Yahoo to BongWizard
Default Re: Good Phenom II mobo

vista sux! the only upsides are: 1) its the only OS which natively (and fully) supports DX10, and 2) it offers a highly compatible 64 bit platform

when Win7 starts supporting more apps it'll blow Vista outta the water (not that it doesnt now)
__________________

NZXT Lexa BlackLine w/ Red LEDs | Corsair TX-750 | Gigabyte EP45-DS3P | Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 3.6GHz
2x 2GB Kingston HyperX PC2-6400 @ 960MHz (5-4-4-13) | 3x Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB HDD in RAID5
2x HIS Radeon HD 4850 @ 761/1129 in CrossFireX w/ Thermaltake DuOrbs | Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro



Got a problem?? Click Here before posting!

BongWizard is offline  
Old 01-20-2009, 05:25 AM   #34 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Good Phenom II mobo

I don't think 7 will need service packs to be good. It's based on the NT 6 kernel already (which Vista uses), except it will be an improved version.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-20-2009, 05:43 AM   #35 (permalink)
Electical Engineer
 
BongWizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: OZ
Posts: 916
Send a message via AIM to BongWizard Send a message via Yahoo to BongWizard
Default Re: Good Phenom II mobo

oh it definitely wont need SPs to be good... but there's always a few bugs, mostly stuff you'd never notice (because those are done with hotfixes), but still, an SP always helps out a bit

but **** Win7 Beta is fast... absolutely love it!
__________________

NZXT Lexa BlackLine w/ Red LEDs | Corsair TX-750 | Gigabyte EP45-DS3P | Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 3.6GHz
2x 2GB Kingston HyperX PC2-6400 @ 960MHz (5-4-4-13) | 3x Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB HDD in RAID5
2x HIS Radeon HD 4850 @ 761/1129 in CrossFireX w/ Thermaltake DuOrbs | Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro



Got a problem?? Click Here before posting!

BongWizard is offline  
Old 01-20-2009, 11:21 AM   #36 (permalink)
Running on empty.
 
chesirecat1701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Nicaragua
Posts: 403
Send a message via AIM to chesirecat1701 Send a message via MSN to chesirecat1701 Send a message via Yahoo to chesirecat1701
Default Re: Good Phenom II mobo

Still it is a matter of time before it comes out and by then who knows what hardware I'll be running lol

anyways how about foxconn?

Newegg.com - Foxconn A79A-S AM2+/AM2 AMD 790FX ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards
__________________

chesirecat1701 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
order your phenom II's now? tastegw New Technology and Products 15 12-19-2008 07:35 PM
What to look for in good Mobo and CPU's tbinnerarity New Systems | Building and Buying 14 11-17-2008 07:09 PM
AMD Phenom X3 8750 Reviewed at OCC Ste Polls 28 05-02-2008 05:51 PM
cannot install vista.. got a dell mobo siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 04-30-2007 06:05 PM
Hehe I am not having a good week...Mobo Dingadilly Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 03-29-2007 02:42 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.