Good Phenom II mobo - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-19-2009, 01:43 AM   #21 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Good Phenom II mobo

Hardware and games get faster and more demanding....there will always be upgrading.
__________________

__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 01-19-2009, 01:52 AM   #22 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Good Phenom II mobo

You sound like Bill Gates. "640K should be enough."
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 01-19-2009, 01:53 AM   #23 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: Good Phenom II mobo

a thing about Crysis ppl. It's optimized to run dual-core, not quad-core, so u will get a 15-20 fps drop. I did in both Crysis and Crysis Warhead. Solution, upgrade to the latest dual-core and you will get a huge boost. Trust me, i had a 5000+ @ 3.2GHz.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 01-19-2009, 01:55 AM   #24 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Good Phenom II mobo

I didnt get any type of drop....my FPS shot up actually.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 01-19-2009, 01:58 AM   #25 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: Good Phenom II mobo

Quote:
Originally Posted by ricanflow View Post
I didnt get any type of drop....my FPS shot up actually.
i think it's maybe the card then. Your using an NVIDIA, im using ATI. Either way before i got 20-35 fps average in Crysis, all maxed. Now i get 15-20 fps average. Wierd huh?

and ur using a much more powerful GPU then mine
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 01-19-2009, 02:03 AM   #26 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ohio, on the Lake. Its my backyard :)
Posts: 296
Default Re: Good Phenom II mobo

Im love asrock mobo's this is my 4th build with one, and everyone of them has been rock stable.

Im running the A780GXE at the moment, Havent really messed with any settings yet, due to the stock hsf for my 9850.. I do have it running at 2.8(With just the Asrock Overclock program) tho i feel it could go higher with better fan
__________________
AMD X2 555 unlocked to X4 B55 @3.5 | 8GB GSkill Sniper series | Asus M4A89GTD Pro/Usb3 | 2x XFX HD6850 | 600W OCZ ModXStream | Thermaltake V9 Black edition | Corsair H50 | 2x 1TB Samsung HD's
Heatware
TipsySmile is offline  
Old 01-19-2009, 10:31 AM   #27 (permalink)
Running on empty.
 
chesirecat1701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Nicaragua
Posts: 403
Send a message via AIM to chesirecat1701 Send a message via MSN to chesirecat1701 Send a message via Yahoo to chesirecat1701
Default Re: Good Phenom II mobo

I think I'm gonna go with the MSI platinum 790GX board if any, with that said, I think I'd be just fine with a GTX 260
chesirecat1701 is offline  
Old 01-19-2009, 12:30 PM   #28 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Good Phenom II mobo

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1337_JohnN View Post
I hoped nobody would say that... but I doubt things will get too much better than Crysis, unless people decide to get super high pixel count monitors, or super high refresh rate monitors. They might make something like Crysis, with uber surrondings but that would be extreme, and almost too extreme for the eyes.
3 years from now you're going to laugh at this .
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 01-19-2009, 03:05 PM   #29 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: Good Phenom II mobo

Quote:
Originally Posted by rollingthunder4000 View Post
I think I'm gonna go with the MSI platinum 790GX board if any, with that said, I think I'd be just fine with a GTX 260
fyi, i wouldnt if ur going to upgrade to Windows 7. Windows 7 will not support Hybrid GPU Crossfire. Get this one: Newegg.com - ASUS M3A79-T Deluxe AM2+/AM2 AMD 790FX ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards

or the open box: Newegg.com - Open Box: ASUS M3A79-T Deluxe AM2+/AM2 AMD 790FX ATX AMD Motherboard

790FX is the best one over 790GX, plus this mobo has SB750.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 01-19-2009, 03:23 PM   #30 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,009
Default Re: Good Phenom II mobo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildside View Post
a thing about Crysis ppl. It's optimized to run dual-core, not quad-core, so u will get a 15-20 fps drop. I did in both Crysis and Crysis Warhead. Solution, upgrade to the latest dual-core and you will get a huge boost. Trust me, i had a 5000+ @ 3.2GHz.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildside View Post
i think it's maybe the card then. Your using an NVIDIA, im using ATI. Either way before i got 20-35 fps average in Crysis, all maxed. Now i get 15-20 fps average. Wierd huh?

and ur using a much more powerful GPU then mine
I think at the moment, this only applies for ATI cards, I have read several posts around the net in which ATI admitted that its drivers didn't support multithreading, so the dual to quad core upgrade would not benefit ATi as much as it did NVIDIA cards, whose drivers already support multicore. ATi Catalyst 9.12 should better accommodate quad cores.
__________________

AP4LIFETN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
order your phenom II's now? tastegw New Technology and Products 15 12-19-2008 07:35 PM
What to look for in good Mobo and CPU's tbinnerarity New Systems | Building and Buying 14 11-17-2008 07:09 PM
AMD Phenom X3 8750 Reviewed at OCC Ste Polls 28 05-02-2008 05:51 PM
cannot install vista.. got a dell mobo siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 04-30-2007 06:05 PM
Hehe I am not having a good week...Mobo Dingadilly Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 03-29-2007 02:42 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.