Good Phenom II mobo - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-18-2009, 08:57 PM   #11 (permalink)
Running on empty.
 
chesirecat1701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Nicaragua
Posts: 403
Send a message via AIM to chesirecat1701 Send a message via MSN to chesirecat1701 Send a message via Yahoo to chesirecat1701
Default

I figured so for the price they put them at

more of a "you get what you pay for" market at these price ranges

I like Asus but i hate that they used (turd) brown for all of their AMD line-up boards

EDIT: does anyone know exactly which 7-series chip sets support AMD overdrive?

alright the MSI stood out for me Newegg.com - MSI DKA790GX Platinum AM2+/AM2 AMD 790GX HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards

but they also have a open box X58 mobo for the same price which would make going for a i7 build only $10 - $15 more.... hmm?

Newegg.com - Open Box: MSI X58 Platinum LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX Intel Motherboard
__________________

chesirecat1701 is offline  
Old 01-18-2009, 09:22 PM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Good Phenom II mobo

^ i would stay away from open box products.
__________________

__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 01-18-2009, 09:28 PM   #13 (permalink)
Running on empty.
 
chesirecat1701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Nicaragua
Posts: 403
Send a message via AIM to chesirecat1701 Send a message via MSN to chesirecat1701 Send a message via Yahoo to chesirecat1701
Default Re: Good Phenom II mobo

Quote:
Originally Posted by philbar71 View Post
^ i would stay away from open box products.
lol my thought of it too, just inquiring, is the P II 940 gonna bottleneck a GTX295? if so I can settle with a GTX260 or maybe switch over to ATI for a while
chesirecat1701 is offline  
Old 01-18-2009, 09:28 PM   #14 (permalink)
Inspired by Art
 
tastegw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,400
Default Re: Good Phenom II mobo

Quote:
Originally Posted by rollingthunder4000 View Post
lol my thought of it too, just inquiring, is the P II 940 gonna bottleneck a GTX295? if so I can settle with a GTX260 or maybe switch over to ATI for a while
if the pII 940 bottlenecks the 295, then id have to say all cpus do.
__________________
tastegw is offline  
Old 01-18-2009, 09:34 PM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Good Phenom II mobo

Quote:
Originally Posted by rollingthunder4000 View Post
lol my thought of it too, just inquiring, is the P II 940 gonna bottleneck a GTX295? if so I can settle with a GTX260 or maybe switch over to ATI for a while

have you not seen my thread?????
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 01-18-2009, 09:48 PM   #16 (permalink)
Running on empty.
 
chesirecat1701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Nicaragua
Posts: 403
Send a message via AIM to chesirecat1701 Send a message via MSN to chesirecat1701 Send a message via Yahoo to chesirecat1701
Default Re: Good Phenom II mobo

sorry rican I must not have forgive me for I have ignorant habits lol
chesirecat1701 is offline  
Old 01-18-2009, 10:43 PM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Good Phenom II mobo

Im running a GTX 295 and phenom II 940 and already at stock im scoring 16.5K in 3dmark06.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 01-19-2009, 12:10 AM   #18 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: Good Phenom II mobo

Quote:
Originally Posted by ricanflow View Post
Im running a GTX 295 and phenom II 940 and already at stock im scoring 16.5K in 3dmark06.
Once rican gets a decent over clock 3.7~3.8ghz on air. Once you reach that point, the GPU starts bottle necking the CPU.
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 01-19-2009, 12:49 AM   #19 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Good Phenom II mobo

yeah i can get much more power out of this card once i oc.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 01-19-2009, 01:27 AM   #20 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: Good Phenom II mobo

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1337_JohnN View Post
lol, an i7 would probably bottleck 2 GTX295's, unless you OC it to 4.2 GHz.
That's the point John. The CPU GPU bottleneck disappears around 3.7ghz~.

So even the 3.2ghz i 7 965 Extreme bottlenecks video cards.
__________________

__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
order your phenom II's now? tastegw New Technology and Products 15 12-19-2008 07:35 PM
What to look for in good Mobo and CPU's tbinnerarity New Systems | Building and Buying 14 11-17-2008 07:09 PM
AMD Phenom X3 8750 Reviewed at OCC Ste Polls 28 05-02-2008 05:51 PM
cannot install vista.. got a dell mobo siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 04-30-2007 06:05 PM
Hehe I am not having a good week...Mobo Dingadilly Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 03-29-2007 02:42 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.